nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=60)
-   -   No 3D Performance - Card faulty? (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=118343)

Forsure 08-22-08 06:10 PM

No 3D Performance - Card faulty?
 
Hi guys,

Im by no means an overclocker, ive just started looking into but havent really done anything yet.

Ive bought a new rig with MSI n280GTX (see below insig for a brief) but when i assembled it and installed the OS with all the drivers (using 177.79 beta driver for GTX280) i dont seem to have any performance from the card.

Most games are giving me just 20fps - have tested with CoD4 and AoC and even a really low requirement game like World of Warcraft all with the same results.

I upgraded the Motherboard BIOS to the latest and reinstalled the beta drivers 5-6 times also reinstalled the OS back to XP and now back to Vista Ultimate 32bit with no result.


I saw in another post to enable performance level in Rivatuner but this made no difference

please see pics of GPU-z
http://img176.imageshack.us/img176/4858/gpuzdx3.jpg

any input would be awesome

Thanks

badboy64 08-22-08 07:24 PM

Re: No 3D Performance - Card faulty?
 
I see your PCI-Ex is at 1x instead of 16x. Which is causing the low performance. Can you up the MHZ to the PCI-E to around 110mhz in the bios or maybe set the display to PCI-Ex if it isn't already.

CaptNKILL 08-22-08 07:45 PM

Re: No 3D Performance - Card faulty?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by badboy64 (Post 1754192)
I see your PCI-Ex is at 1x instead of 16x. Which is causing the low performance. Can you up the MHZ to the PCI-E to around 110mhz in the bios or maybe set the display to PCI-Ex if it isn't already.

Eh? Don't overclock your PCI-E bus...

If the PCI-E speed is actually 1x, that's probably whats killing your performance. If you have more than one PCI-E slot, try it in another one. Some boards have "1x" slots that are full size and can be easily mistaken for the proper x16 slot.

If that isn't it, check your BIOS for PCI-E speed settings or reinstall your motherboard chipset drivers.

badboy64 08-22-08 08:14 PM

Re: No 3D Performance - Card faulty?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by CaptNKILL (Post 1754210)
Eh? Don't overclock your PCI-E bus...

If the PCI-E speed is actually 1x, that's probably whats killing your performance. If you have more than one PCI-E slot, try it in another one. Some boards have "1x" slots that are full size and can be easily mistaken for the proper x16 slot.

If that isn't it, check your BIOS for PCI-E speed settings or reinstall your motherboard chipset drivers.

It doesn't hurt it. I overclock mine and it doesn't seem to hurt it. I have a GTX280.

offi 08-22-08 08:40 PM

Re: No 3D Performance - Card faulty?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Forsure (Post 1754163)
Hi guys,

Im by no means an overclocker, ive just started looking into but havent really done anything yet.

Ive bought a new rig with MSI n280GTX (see below insig for a brief) but when i assembled it and installed the OS with all the drivers (using 177.79 beta driver for GTX280) i dont seem to have any performance from the card.

For one latest beta drivers is 177.89 which fix's alot of stuff on proformance with gpu cores.

get nvidia power pack with v117.83 driver
http://www.nvidia.co.uk/content/forc...k/download.asp

beta driver up to date v117.89 Has " OpenGL 3.0 "
http://developer.nvidia.com/object/opengl_3_driver.html
PS: read the small prints on that page about OpenGL 3.0.

Nvidia site is like months behind on beta drivers as thy never seem to update them unless a new cards coming out.

Forsure 08-24-08 06:53 AM

Re: No 3D Performance - Card faulty?
 
Thanks for the input, this was a bios setting for the PCI-e slot apparently you have to configure it to use 16x

Thanks working all good now expcept... i think alot of people are having the issue where the card doesnt downclock when you finish with 3d mode or 3d rendering, any fix for this?

Lfctony 08-24-08 07:35 AM

Re: No 3D Performance - Card faulty?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Forsure (Post 1755214)
Thanks for the input, this was a bios setting for the PCI-e slot apparently you have to configure it to use 16x

Thanks working all good now expcept... i think alot of people are having the issue where the card doesnt downclock when you finish with 3d mode or 3d rendering, any fix for this?

It depends on your internet browser, IE keeps the card in 3D. So does media player, dual monitors etc.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:31 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.