nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Switching Hotkey to HP Pavilion laptop (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=118562)

variable 08-27-08 02:04 PM

Switching Hotkey to HP Pavilion laptop
 
Hi! I'm trying find out why my hotkey doesn't work. How the driver is closed-source, I can't know how the hotkey works in nvidia-drivers. My hotkey is at f4+fn and I have a HP Pavilion DV5000 laptop with Nvidia Geforce Go 7400.

I had problems with DVD Button and Media Button, but the Matthew Garret solved these problems with HP WMI driver. The Phoenix BIOS had implemented those hotkeys in WMI, which isn't default of industry! :thumbdwn: See the link: http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=11424

To help with debug, see the follow links:
http://files.milk-it.net/michel/dsdt.dsl => This is my DSDT BIOS to see where is my hotkey - this is to nvidia developers.
http://files.milk-it.net/michel/nvidia-bug-report.log
http://files.milk-it.net/michel/lshw => My hardware specification

Does exist any driver that fix this? When will you fix this problem?

I'm waiting a feedback of nvidia developers. :D

tolonuga 09-02-08 03:53 AM

Re: Switching Hotkey to HP Pavilion laptop
 
I had a similar issue with the T61 laptop. to solve it I wrote a small
appliction to switch the video output, and I looked at acpid how to
configure it to run this app when I press the hotkey.

the application in source code is at
https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+bug/263887

to find out what button your HP has:
# become root
sudo bash
# stop acpid
/etc/init.d/acpid stop
# look at acpi events
cat /proc/acpi/events
# now press the button and you should see the magic line
# then press ctrl-c to abort the "cat" command above.
# and start acpid again
/etc/init.d/acpid start

look at the files in /etc/acpid/events/ and see which file
handles this magic line you have or write a new one.
the files are plain simple: one line "event=" with the magic cookie
and one line "action=" with the command to run.

good luck!

p.s. maybe give some feedback on that bug report page on launchpad.net
if it works for you, so they can fix your laptop too :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:09 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.