nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=60)
-   -   Looks like my GTX260 needs to be RMA =( (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=118817)

Ghosthunter 09-01-08 11:27 PM

Looks like my GTX260 needs to be RMA =(
 
I have a XFX GTX 260, had it since July 8th, kept getting

Display driver nvlddmkm stopped responding


updated my drivers problems seemed to be fixed, but now things are getting worst, everytime I try to launch any 3d game, after about 5 minutes I will blue screen and or the game will freeze and will get that message


I tried running furmark and about 2 minutes in I started to see all sorts of particles on the screen and then app just crashed.

2D is just fine, but I guess the card is dead.

The weird thing is temps never got super high when all of this was happening, but I guess just bad card. Man this sucks.


anyone know how long it takes to get an RMA? from XFX?

offi 09-02-08 04:55 AM

Re: Looks like my GTX260 needs to be RMA =(
 
It may not be your card, it could be your psu, nead just over 500w power for 260 and around 700w power for 280.



Also try new beta drivers. 177.98
http://www.nvidia.com/Download/Find.aspx?lang=en-us

Ghosthunter 09-02-08 07:01 AM

Re: Looks like my GTX260 needs to be RMA =(
 
my psu should be more then enough corsair 750tx

and i have tried 3 different drivers already

nekrosoft13 09-02-08 07:21 AM

Re: Looks like my GTX260 needs to be RMA =(
 
what temps are you getting.

plus the nvlddmkm error most of the time is causes by software issues.

nekrosoft13 09-02-08 07:31 AM

Re: Looks like my GTX260 needs to be RMA =(
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by offi (Post 1764022)
Also try new beta drivers. 177.98
http://www.nvidia.com/Download/Find.aspx?lang=en-us

177.98? where

Eliminator 09-02-08 09:11 AM

Re: Looks like my GTX260 needs to be RMA =(
 
i think he means 177.92

Ghosthunter 09-02-08 09:19 AM

Re: Looks like my GTX260 needs to be RMA =(
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 (Post 1764050)
what temps are you getting.

plus the nvlddmkm error most of the time is causes by software issues.

rivatuner is telling me in hardware log around 70-80


it is happening on a consitent basis now i run any game 5 minutes in game boom it Blue screes and reboots


when i run furmark i start see artifacting and then the app crashes in 2 minutes



whenver i install new driver i make sure to uninstall, boot in safe mode, run driver cleaner, then reboot and install new driver,



i have tried several different drivers including newest drivers 177.92

offi 09-02-08 09:28 AM

Re: Looks like my GTX260 needs to be RMA =(
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Eliminator (Post 1764114)
i think he means 177.92

thanks yep i do ^^ was in a rush and misstyped ><

Eliminator 09-02-08 09:31 AM

Re: Looks like my GTX260 needs to be RMA =(
 
yea i would assume the card is dead... hope the RMA service from XFX works well for you

Quick420 09-02-08 09:31 AM

Re: Looks like my GTX260 needs to be RMA =(
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Ghosthunter (Post 1764118)
rivatuner is telling me in hardware log around 70-80


it is happening on a consitent basis now i run any game 5 minutes in game boom it Blue screes and reboots


when i run furmark i start see artifacting and then the app crashes in 2 minutes



whenver i install new driver i make sure to uninstall, boot in safe mode, run driver cleaner, then reboot and install new driver,



i have tried several different drivers including newest drivers 177.92

I feel for ya,have you tried underclocking it to see if that cools enough to play? I'd still rma it if you feel confident it's not a software issue;)

Ghosthunter 09-02-08 09:42 AM

Re: Looks like my GTX260 needs to be RMA =(
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Xaxly24 (Post 1764126)
I feel for ya,have you tried underclocking it to see if that cools enough to play? I'd still rma it if you feel confident it's not a software issue;)


no i have not tried to underclock, the card came overlocked

i guess i can try that to see if it works tonight

i have a ticket opened with XFX now via their ticket system lets see what they say

hopefully it dont take too long to get a replacement

Ghosthunter 09-02-08 10:12 AM

Re: Looks like my GTX260 needs to be RMA =(
 
just curious i saw this post

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show...5&postcount=32

and someone said they lowered his memory and that fixed his issue

now i ran memtest overnight about a month ago and i am not overclocking my memory i am running what it says to run at


but do you think i should lower my memory settings?

I have OCZ 4 GB DDR2 1066 and I think it is set at 5-5-5-18 but not sure unless looking at it


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:02 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.