nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   nVidia Riva TNT2 pro and Compiz? (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=119225)

quarg 09-10-08 11:22 PM

nVidia Riva TNT2 pro and Compiz?
 
hello all, i was wondering if i can get compiz on my old gateway, w/ my nVidia Riva tnt2 pro card, running ubuntu 8.04 right now, it won't load any desktop effects, which use the compiz engine, so i havent bothered downloading it yet, does anyone know if this graphics card will even support desktop effects? it has 16 MB memory. my specs for the rest of the computer are: 1GHZ PIII CPU, 512MB RAM.

biAji 09-11-08 01:41 AM

Re: nVidia Riva TNT2 pro and Compiz?
 
Sadly , I don't think you can do that thing...

Thunderbird 09-11-08 11:03 AM

Re: nVidia Riva TNT2 pro and Compiz?
 
First compiz requires the GLX extension 'GLX_EXT_texture_from_pixmap' which isn't supported on the TNT drivers. Even if it was supported compiz requires a fast videocard and PC to run well. If you want this you need to upgrade. As you are still using a p3 1.0GHz I would upgrade as it isn't that expensive (even if the prices of new hardware are high, even a second hand p4 or a64 would be a nice boost already)

joffe 09-11-08 12:10 PM

Re: nVidia Riva TNT2 pro and Compiz?
 
Compiz runs pretty well with my Geforce4 420 Go which came with my notebook (celebrating five years this september and it has only 32MB of dedicated graphics memory!) As Thunderbird said you should be able to get some really cheap, relatively old graphics card and still be capable of running compiz.

Thunderbird 09-12-08 05:16 AM

Re: nVidia Riva TNT2 pro and Compiz?
 
Just a videocard is not enough. Your pc offers more than twice the performance of his old p3. He should invest in a new motherboard + cpu + gpu + mem. Even an integrated one would already be a huge improvement. I think that for about 150 euro you can have a nice combination.

evil_core 09-12-08 09:40 PM

Re: nVidia Riva TNT2 pro and Compiz?
 
If I remember good I was running beryl on 466MHz and TNT2 with XGL. I am not shure about if it was working and performance. I only remember that RENDER composite was too slow on this card to be usable, but it were old times when nvidia introduced composite(not GL one).


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:01 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.