nV News Forums

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Dual Moniter Questions (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=119493)

Rival904 09-16-08 11:32 AM

Dual Moniter Questions

Sorry for being a linux noob, I'm trying to figure this out and hopefully make the switch permantly.

Anyways I have dual monitors cant figure out how to get both of them to work, For them bit of research I have done, I have found some words such as X config files and other things of the sort. If anyone could help me tackle this problem, itd be nice and very helpful.

Thanks for you help,
Matt

In case anyone was wondering, I have

Intel Q9300
2GB DDR2 GSKILL
MSI Mobo
500GB WD HDD
7100 onboard graphics (Yes I know, I was recently hurting for money and sold my 8800GTS :( )

NvFuchs 09-16-08 12:01 PM

Re: Dual Moniter Questions

1) make sure the nvidia proprietary driver and nvidia-settings are installed. Read your distribution (e.g. ubuntu, SuSE, mandriva, redhat, fedora) documentation on how to do so, as this is not the same for all distributions.

2) open nvidia-settings (if you want to keep the configuration: open it as root / with sudo)

3) click on X Screen Display Configuration

4) click on detect displays

5) configure the displays

6) if you want to keep the configuration, click on Save to X config file

7) close nvidia-settings

Fuchs

Rival904 09-16-08 12:39 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by NvFuchs (Post 1778432)
1) make sure the nvidia proprietary driver and nvidia-settings are installed. Read your distribution (e.g. ubuntu, SuSE, mandriva, redhat, fedora) documentation on how to do so, as this is not the same for all distributions.

2) open nvidia-settings (if you want to keep the configuration: open it as root / with sudo)

3) click on X Screen Display Configuration

4) click on detect displays

5) configure the displays