nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=60)
-   -   Want to run Crysis at vanilla Very High in Vista64@1680x1050 with good framerate:GPU? (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=119762)

3DBrad 09-21-08 12:55 PM

Want to run Crysis at vanilla Very High in Vista64@1680x1050 with good framerate:GPU?
 
So which GPU(s) could yield 30fps or more average framerate in Vista64 with Very High (not tweaked stuff)?

One GTX 280, two GTX280s?

One 8800gt gets very unplayable at Very High, but with cinematic motion blur 24fps or more is pretty acceptable.

Not going ATI due to them not being the best for 3d work, which I do for a living.

Thanks. :)

Specs are,
Q6600 @ 3.46ghz, 8800gt@721/830/1010, Asus P5B Deluxe Wifi, 8800gt, 8gb RAM, Thermaltake 750w Toughpower Modular PSU, Coolermaster Stacker, X-fi, 74gb Raptor (16mb cache)

Edit:
I like the SLI 260 suggestions from XionX2, so now I need suggestions on a good motherboard. My Asus has served me well, but it's not a SLI boards. Needs to be DDR2.

Possible candidate,
ASUS P5N-D LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 750i SLI ATX Intel Motherboard
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131232

Xion X2 09-21-08 01:07 PM

Re: Want to run Crysis at vanilla Very High in Vista64@1680x1050 with good framerate:
 
Two 260s would be your best bang for the buck, I think, while meeting that requirement (30 fps avg.)

3DBrad 09-21-08 01:09 PM

Re: Want to run Crysis at vanilla Very High in Vista64@1680x1050 with good framerate:
 
Hmmm, good point. And they have a hefty amount of VRAM.

Any SLI motherboard suggestions? Must be quad-core friendly, and DDR2! :D

Lfctony 09-21-08 01:39 PM

Re: Want to run Crysis at vanilla Very High in Vista64@1680x1050 with good framerate:
 
Well, 2 280s can barely run it at that res, no AA/AF. While the frame rate is good most of the time, it takes a dive at certain parts of the game. I imagine it will be worse with 2 260s...

wollyka 09-21-08 05:27 PM

Re: Want to run Crysis at vanilla Very High in Vista64@1680x1050 with good framerate:
 
2 GTX260 216 shader edition will do.. but if money is not an obstacle then go GTX280 SLI

3DBrad 09-21-08 07:32 PM

Re: Want to run Crysis at vanilla Very High in Vista64@1680x1050 with good framerate:
 
I was doing some shadow tweaks, so that they looked better, and performance was much better (i.e.- lower shadow resolution, and decrease jittering to 1 instead of the default 2.5), it helped in some scenes, as I was getting 40fps around the area where you're headed to the submarine, before going to the frozen area. However, when the frozen area loaded, 7-9fps! :D

Either way, unless I hear something concrete about "something new" headed around the corner, I'll just use the step-up program if something comes out within 100 days (BFG) or 90 days (eVGA).
:)

Kowan 09-21-08 07:39 PM

Re: Want to run Crysis at vanilla Very High in Vista64@1680x1050 with good framerate:
 
GeForce GTX 280+ (GT200-b) in September? GTX 350 (GT300) in Q4 08?

conantheogar2 09-22-08 09:05 AM

Re: Want to run Crysis at vanilla Very High in Vista64@1680x1050 with good framerate:
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Spoudazo (Post 1783527)
So which GPU(s) could yield 30fps or more average framerate in Vista64 with Very High (not tweaked stuff)?

One GTX 280, two GTX280s?

One 8800gt gets very unplayable at Very High, but with cinematic motion blur 24fps or more is pretty acceptable.

Not going ATI due to them not being the best for 3d work, which I do for a living.

Thanks. :)

Specs are,
Q6600 @ 3.46ghz, 8800gt@721/830/1010, Asus P5B Deluxe Wifi, 8800gt, 8gb RAM, Thermaltake 750w Toughpower Modular PSU, Coolermaster Stacker, X-fi, 74gb Raptor (16mb cache)

Edit:
I like the SLI 260 suggestions from XionX2, so now I need suggestions on a good motherboard. My Asus has served me well, but it's not a SLI boards. Needs to be DDR2.

Possible candidate,
ASUS P5N-D LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 750i SLI ATX Intel Motherboard
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131232


Non Tweaked, you really need the 280Gtx


That game is very poorly optimised,

You will get good frames but it takes a dive at certain parts of the game.

Tr1cK 09-22-08 09:14 AM

Re: Want to run Crysis at vanilla Very High in Vista64@1680x1050 with good framerate:
 
If you don't mind me asking, what 3D work do you do for a living?

I work with 3D AutoCAD.

MikeC 09-23-08 01:45 PM

Re: Want to run Crysis at vanilla Very High in Vista64@1680x1050 with good framerate:
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Xion X2 (Post 1783535)
Two 260s would be your best bang for the buck, I think, while meeting that requirement (30 fps avg.)

I agree. That will get Spoudazo an average of 30fps. I'm currently testing EVGA's GeForce 260 Core 216 Superclocked and just played through the first 5 minutes and averaged 27fps at 1680x1050 with Very High settings (Windows Vista 64-bit). The minimum frame rate dipped to 18fps. This was on a Core 2 Duo E8500.

Received 23/16 at 1920x1200 and 35/27 at 1280x800. Even on a 30-inch monitor, Crysis looked pretty damn good at 1280x800 under the Very High setting.

bacon12 09-23-08 04:23 PM

Re: Want to run Crysis at vanilla Very High in Vista64@1680x1050 with good framerate:
 
Hey MikeC post back when you get to the ice level please. That is where everyone is complaining performance is crapping out. Curious if your dual set up can handle it.

MikeC 09-24-08 08:09 AM

Re: Want to run Crysis at vanilla Very High in Vista64@1680x1050 with good framerate:
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bacon12 (Post 1785704)
Hey MikeC post back when you get to the ice level please. That is where everyone is complaining performance is crapping out. Curious if your dual set up can handle it.

I've got saved games in that level. Any particular part of the level?

Also, I only have one card :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:39 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.