nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Crysis (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=59)
-   -   There is still something that seemingly cannot be done in DX9, (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=119767)

3DBrad 09-21-08 04:02 PM

There is still something that seemingly cannot be done in DX9,
 
I have played Crysis through several times, both on a DX9 "Very High" (tweaks like CCC and other tweaks) and also in Vista with everything on Very High, and the cinematic motionblur never works properly. Sure, I can set the renderer, quality, and change the motionblur from 3, to 4, then to 5, but still it doesn't work as well.

I'm not sure if that's the only thing, but there is are some differences between the two that do show up in the game, and no matter what I do or tweak, I can only get that same post-processing effect and look while in Vista.

So sure, it may seem like something little, but I LOVE the cinematic motionblur, it in itself is all the worth of dealing with Vista's "issues."
:D

FastRedPonyCar 09-23-08 10:55 AM

Re: There is still something that seemingly cannot be done in DX9,
 
Having some motion blur isn't worth losing 10~15 fps.

jeffmd 09-23-08 01:01 PM

Re: There is still something that seemingly cannot be done in DX9,
 
I turned MB completely off and didnt like it. One thing I found MB does well is hides un-even frame rates. Sticking MB on the lowest setting works fine for me. I do think the max dx10 looks "cool" on screen shots and stuff.. but I do to much head whiping and its hard to identify enemies and such while blurring.

six_storm 09-23-08 03:49 PM

Re: There is still something that seemingly cannot be done in DX9,
 
Motion blur FTL.

K007 09-23-08 04:08 PM

Re: There is still something that seemingly cannot be done in DX9,
 
max motion blur is like 60hz on a crt monitor -.-...

jeffmd 09-23-08 04:24 PM

Re: There is still something that seemingly cannot be done in DX9,
 
k007, which dosnt really mean anything. ^^ 60hz is the signal refresh..but whats the monitor refresh? Like LCD, the screen has a specific refresh. Crt monitors that arnt ancient usually have refresh speeds capable of handling up to 120hz or more. This is why they give headaches when they are set to 60hz. There is actually a period of time where the screen is black or very dim inbetween frames because it refreshes the screen and then waits twice as long to refresh then it is designed for and the image is faded before the next refresh. This is the flicker everyone hates. This however would not produce smearing. This produces tearing if the frames arnt synced.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:47 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.