nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=60)
-   -   Whats up with my GTX 260? (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=119958)

ATOJAR 09-25-08 10:55 AM

Whats up with my GTX 260?
 
Just got my Evga GTX 260, put it in and connected both 6 pin power leads, installed the v177.92 driver then ran Riva Tuna v2.09, these are the speeds i get!.... this in not correct right?

Can anybody tell me whats going on please?

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v355/ATOJAR/specs.jpg

Lfctony 09-25-08 10:58 AM

Re: Whats up with my GTX 260?
 
Those are the 2D speeds. Run a game, the card will clock up and then drop down when back in Windows.

ATOJAR 09-25-08 11:00 AM

Re: Whats up with my GTX 260?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Lfctony (Post 1787835)
Those are the 2D speeds. Run a game, the card will clock up and then drop down when back in Windows.


Ahh right, thank got for that ... i was starting to think i had a knackered card, just ran GPU-Z and got this.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v355/ATOJAR/gpu-z.jpg

jAkUp 09-25-08 12:32 PM

Re: Whats up with my GTX 260?
 
Yup, that looks good :)

CaptNKILL 09-25-08 12:40 PM

Re: Whats up with my GTX 260?
 
100Mhz memory? I didn't know they could get it that low. That's crazy.

Delbert 09-25-08 01:13 PM

Re: Whats up with my GTX 260?
 
Hello Atojar... back in the 6800 days, having a different 2D & 3D clocks caused lots of stuttering for me.... do you get anything similar with the 260 ?
TIA

ATOJAR 09-25-08 01:33 PM

Re: Whats up with my GTX 260?
 
Not sure, aint played a game yet lol! ... is there a way to disable 2D speeds just in case?

BTW what best to overclock and stress test the GTX 2x0's?

Lfctony 09-25-08 02:08 PM

Re: Whats up with my GTX 260?
 
Furmark... :)

ATOJAR 09-25-08 02:12 PM

Re: Whats up with my GTX 260?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Lfctony (Post 1788106)
Furmark... :)

Cheers, whats a good overclocking tool?

Rummy 09-25-08 04:02 PM

Re: Whats up with my GTX 260?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by CaptNKILL (Post 1787983)
100Mhz memory? I didn't know they could get it that low. That's crazy.

Mine goes down to 100 as well. Good stuff

ATOJAR 09-25-08 05:03 PM

Re: Whats up with my GTX 260?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Delbert (Post 1788023)
Hello Atojar... back in the 6800 days, having a different 2D & 3D clocks caused lots of stuttering for me.... do you get anything similar with the 260 ?
TIA

Well i can confirm that ive played both age of conan for 2 hours+ and around 1 hour of cod4 just to test the card, both games ran really smooth, any stuttering you suffered back in the day must have been fixed because my game play was smooth as butter :)... age of conan @ 1600x1200 with x8 aa, x8af and and all sliders 75%, shadows, grass, textures ect ect high and still hitting over 70fps!

cod 4 @ 1920x1440 with all settings maxed(cant remember the fps)and no screen lagg of any kind, ran smooth. :)

bobmitch 09-25-08 10:04 PM

Re: Whats up with my GTX 260?
 
I got the new GTX 260 216 Superclocked EVGA...same issue with mine. Called and talked to Chris in tech support. When the card is in 2D mode, the object is to save power and energy, so most certainly the card clocks down. In 3D, my Superclocked is 626/1350/2106 and that is what I get in Rivatuner and EVGA Precision. As a matter of fact, Precision will give you the default 3D clocks on the right side...and the current running clocks on the left

Bob


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:12 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.