nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=60)
-   -   Will a single 260GTX run Crysis @ 1280x1024 dx10 max? (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=119999)

SeriTonin 09-25-08 11:33 PM

Will a single 260GTX run Crysis @ 1280x1024 dx10 max?
 
This would be with 4gb of ram and a e8500, I currently have a 9800gt and am thinking about moving to a 260gtx, not looking for aa/af

Right now I can get 1024x768 on my rig in dx, vista kills performance with this game, in XP I was able to do 1280. I figure with gta4, legend, mirrors edge, etc, it's time for a modest upgrade anyway, just wanted to know if this would be enough for crysis and warhead?

Thanks. :)

Lfctony 09-26-08 01:33 AM

Re: Will a single 260GTX run Crysis @ 1280x1024 dx10 max?
 
No... It won't be enough unfortunately. :(

DarkOneX 09-26-08 01:40 AM

Re: Will a single 260GTX run Crysis @ 1280x1024 dx10 max?
 
I beg to differ, I play Crysis and Crysis Warhead just fine @ max details (no aa) @ 1600x1200. Sure it gets down to low 20's alot but overall it's a great experience.

Lfctony 09-26-08 01:46 AM

Re: Will a single 260GTX run Crysis @ 1280x1024 dx10 max?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by DarkOneX (Post 1788735)
I beg to differ, I play Crysis and Crysis Warhead just fine @ max details (no aa) @ 1600x1200. Sure it gets down to low 20's alot but overall it's a great experience.

Really? How come nobody can play it with a single GTX280, barely with 2x280s and you can play it with one 260? Is your 260 magic?

Oh, please use the Crysis benchmark tool and provide proof of the Harbor/Assault timedemo on max details please, which is actual gameplay. Thank you...

DarkOneX 09-26-08 01:50 AM

Re: Will a single 260GTX run Crysis @ 1280x1024 dx10 max?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Lfctony (Post 1788740)
Really? How come nobody can play it with a single GTX280, barely with 2x280s and you can play it with one 260? Is your 260 magic?

No, I'm positive you are over exagerrating, go look at the benches, come on, barely playable with 280's in SLI lol. One thing to note that I notice alot of people that have a 260, 280, or 2 of them have LCD's that run at a higher res than mine which is @ 1600x1200 so I can imagine it running slower for them. I know unplayable, and that was definitely when I tried playing it even on High settings on my 8800GTS 320MB, now that was unplayable. Then I replaced that with the 8800GTS 512MB and stepped up to High @ 1600x1200 and played through the entire game and it was overall a smooth experience except the winter stage where I had to drop it down. The GTX 260 is a hell of a card, my framerate went up significantly over the 8800GTS and I stepped it up to Very High and played through smoothly. Multiplayer is even smoother too.

Lfctony 09-26-08 01:54 AM

Re: Will a single 260GTX run Crysis @ 1280x1024 dx10 max?
 
Man, that's not even possible. The frame rate dips to the mid 10s with a 280... Its worse with a 260... I'm sorry but the whole INTERNETS say one thing and I also have personal experience. And you claim another... Over at HardOCP they played Crysis on High with some settings on Medium for a 260... And you play with everything on V.High... Sure...

DarkOneX 09-26-08 01:56 AM

Re: Will a single 260GTX run Crysis @ 1280x1024 dx10 max?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Lfctony (Post 1788747)
Man, that's not even possible. The frame rate dips to the mid 10s with a 280... Its worse with a 260...

I don't think it'd get that low. Lowest I recall seeing on my 260 was in Crysis Warhead on the very opening scene it got down to 15.

AthlonXP1800 09-26-08 01:58 AM

Re: Will a single 260GTX run Crysis @ 1280x1024 dx10 max?
 
Yes a GTX 260 is good enough to run Crysis and Crysis Warhead, here is a review with 14 graphics cards included 9800GT and GTX 260 ran Crysis Warhead on DirectX 10 at settings from Enthusiast to Mainstream Quality without AA/AF. GTX 260 is as fast as 4870X2 and faster than 9800GT.

http://en.hardspell.com/doc/showcont.asp?news_id=4134

Lfctony 09-26-08 01:59 AM

Re: Will a single 260GTX run Crysis @ 1280x1024 dx10 max?
 
Please run the Harbor timedemo...
http://www.fileplanet.com/182784/180...chmarking-Tool

DarkOneX 09-26-08 02:00 AM

Re: Will a single 260GTX run Crysis @ 1280x1024 dx10 max?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Lfctony (Post 1788751)

Maybe tomorrow, going to bed now, gotta wake up early for work.

Lfctony 09-26-08 02:01 AM

Re: Will a single 260GTX run Crysis @ 1280x1024 dx10 max?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by AthlonXP1800 (Post 1788750)
Yes a GTX 260 is good enough to run Crysis and Crysis Warhead, here is a review with 14 graphics cards included 9800GT and GTX 260 ran Crysis Warhead on DirectX 10 at settings from Enthusiast to Mainstream Quality without AA/AF. GTX 260 is as fast as 4870X2 and faster than 9800GT.

http://en.hardspell.com/doc/showcont.asp?news_id=4134

MINIMUMS.... NOT AVERAGE.... Show me minimums...

Lfctony 09-26-08 02:02 AM

Re: Will a single 260GTX run Crysis @ 1280x1024 dx10 max?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by DarkOneX (Post 1788752)
Maybe tomorrow, going to bed now, gotta wake up early for work.

I'm sure you will, sure... :headexplode:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:27 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.