nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   why graphics are so poor with linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=12099)

nours42 05-19-03 07:05 PM

why graphics are so poor with linux
 
Hi!

I'm a newbee with linux and of course I come from a world where detonator works so great (when the twinview don't crash IE).

I'm working now on dell precision 450 and 650 with Nvidia Quadro4 900 XGL.

I try to use the redhat 8 kernel 2-14-18, the drivers provided by dell don't work at all : no 3D, no antialiasing...
as there isn't a graphic card...

I have tried the last drivers script... very nice...
but why when I change "nv" in "nvidia" I lost the screen?

I have seen a lot of things about nvagp and so on...
that sounds very interesting, but has anyone heard about a working XF86config with real 3D?

I just want to use my opengl softwares nothing else!

If someone has a dell precision 650 and 450 with 1 xeon processor on the standard redhat 8 and nvidia quadro4 900 xgl, nothing exotic more... could you give me some advices?

thanks!

See U later
chris

bwkaz 05-19-03 09:36 PM

Re: why graphics are so poor with linux
 
Quote:

Originally posted by nours42
I try to use the redhat 8 kernel 2-14-18, the drivers provided by dell don't work at all : no 3D, no antialiasing...
as there isn't a graphic card...

Those drivers aren't provided by Dell, they're provided by RedHat. They do not support 3D, no. In fact, they don't use your video card as anything other than a large framebuffer -- just a place to dump pixel data.

Quote:

I have tried the last drivers script... very nice...
but why when I change "nv" in "nvidia" I lost the screen?

You're going to have to elaborate on that one. What happened? After you changed the driver line, and did a startx as your normal user (you aren't running everything as root, are you? -- you do have a normal user, right?), do a cp /var/log/XFree86.0.log ~ (note: Linux is case sensitive), then put it on a floppy or directly onto your Windows partition if applicable, or put it somewhere else where you can post it here (as an attachment).

This log file has the full text of any errors that the driver is running into, and most of these are pretty easily fixable -- once we know what they are. :)

nours42 05-22-03 05:46 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Hello,

Thx for yur mail,
I post today the log you ask...
it's quite amasing : if I use "nv" I have my screen but no glc because glxgears says I have no glx used.
and if its "nvidia" it crashes and it seems that it doesn't find the screen.

My OS is Mandrake 9.1, the version of Xfree seems to be the 4.33
My workstation is a dell precision 450 with a xeon 2.8 Ghz and an nvidia quadro4 900 XGL

thx again for your help.

Best regards,
chris

alien999999999 05-22-03 07:00 AM

quite normal, the nv driver is not functioning correctly anymore when installing the nvidia drivers.

if you wanted to uninstall please do a ldconfig as root.

most people here have no problems with actual 3D and are able to play Quake 3 with no problem at all at high fps.

I'll look into your log file as well.

alien999999999 05-22-03 07:09 AM

something went wrong with your install.

do this to correct it:

boot up normally, DO NOT use FAILSAFE or ANY other mode!!! just the normal one.

when it says 'press I to go to interactive mode' press 'I' but do it real fast! It must appear before the next line.
then wait:
after a while you will be asked to load this or that.
press Y to all, EXCEPT the 'dm' (display manager) after that you can press C. (continue)

log in as root in a text console:

nvidia-installer --uninstall
ldconfig
sh /path/to/NVIDIA.........run
vi /etc/XF86Config-4 (press INS first, change nv to nvidia, then press ESC:wqENTER )
ldconfig
reboot

that should make the problem dissappear. if it does not work: post the logfile and config file...

good luck

nours42 05-22-03 08:59 AM

1 Attachment(s)
hi!
and thx for your advice,

I'm sorry but it doesn't work...
what's the meaning of the "ldconfig" command?

I post you the new config file and the log file...

If it inspires you...

best regards,
chris

nours42 05-22-03 09:00 AM

1 Attachment(s)
the config file

alien999999999 05-22-03 11:33 AM

did you do the exact thing I requested? exactly?

alien999999999 05-22-03 11:39 AM

start up the way I requested (not failsafe)
and try this as root:

[ ]# lsmod nvidia

does that show?
if not:

[ ]# insmod nvidia

does it give errors?
if not:

/ect/init.d/dm start

does that work?
if it does:

[ ]# reboot

does it still work?

good luck

PS: what kind of hardware are you using? card or chipset.

set in the BIOS: assign IRQ for VGA = true and PnP-OS = false

post also /proc/interrupts


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:01 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.