nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=60)
-   -   Gtx260's sli setup? (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=121190)

BelfastCradle 10-15-08 08:15 AM

Gtx260's sli setup?
 
I'm planning to get a new rig with a gtx260, 4gb DDRII, q9300; and am deciding to put it on either an MSI p7n platinum or ASUS p5n-d.

I realise that these two have been matched up on many sites on
many occasions but I have decided on the p7n platinum on one condition:

***I plan to get another gtx 260 in a few months time, will the mobo's ability to only run at PCI 2.0 x8 for each card (as opposed to both at x16) be an issue?***

I only intend to OC the CPU to c.3.0Ghz so am not worried by the (probably fair) claims of the boards being poor OC'ers.

***One last thing, I intend to put this in Antec 300 with a coolermaster 700w PSU. Can I assume this would be enough power for 2x gtx260's?***

Cheers

Vanzagar 10-15-08 12:40 PM

Re: Gtx260's sli setup?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BelfastCradle (Post 1809289)
I'm planning to get a new rig with a gtx260, 4gb DDRII, q9300; and am deciding to put it on either an MSI p7n platinum or ASUS p5n-d.

I realise that these two have been matched up on many sites on
many occasions but I have decided on the p7n platinum on one condition:

***I plan to get another gtx 260 in a few months time, will the mobo's ability to only run at PCI 2.0 x8 for each card (as opposed to both at x16) be an issue?***

I only intend to OC the CPU to c.3.0Ghz so am not worried by the (probably fair) claims of the boards being poor OC'ers.

***One last thing, I intend to put this in Antec 300 with a coolermaster 700w PSU. Can I assume this would be enough power for 2x gtx260's?***

Cheers


Personally, I don't think that PSU will be enough, esp if you are overclocking...

http://www.slizone.com/object/slizone_build_psu.html

BelfastCradle 10-15-08 01:05 PM

Re: Gtx260's sli setup?
 
Sorry Vanzagar, should have checked that site properly before. A bit slack. Much obliged for pointing it out.

I'd better bump it up safely over 800w.

**Anyone got any ideas whether this lack of two full pci x16's running at fulll speed, will slow down a pair of gtx 260s?**

I can't find anywhere that says that a x8 speed slot would be too slow, but it sounds unusual for a fairly new GPU model
I don't want to create a bottleneck for GPU's on a brand new setup.

On the other hand if you reckon this us just noob thinking... let me know!!

jcrox 10-15-08 05:19 PM

Re: Gtx260's sli setup?
 
My power supply seems to handle everything just fine.

Vanzagar 10-15-08 06:06 PM

Re: Gtx260's sli setup?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by jcrox (Post 1809889)
My power supply seems to handle everything just fine.

That's really good to know... I just got a 1000W Corsair for my two gtx260's, looks like I have a compfortable cushion... are your gtx's and cpu over clocked? how many hard drives you running?

Vanz

jcrox 10-15-08 07:20 PM

Re: Gtx260's sli setup?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Vanzagar (Post 1809935)
That's really good to know... I just got a 1000W Corsair for my two gtx260's, looks like I have a compfortable cushion... are your gtx's and cpu over clocked? how many hard drives you running?

Vanz

2 HDDs
CPU @ 3.2GHz

No need so far to overclock the cards.

john19055 10-17-08 04:28 AM

Re: Gtx260's sli setup?
 
If your motherboard has PCI 2.0 then running at 8x instead of 16x you want notice much difference, in some games none and others maybe 1 FPS or 2 FPS at least the review sites I have seen.
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/...-0,1915-9.html


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:04 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.