nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Help!!!!???!!! (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=12157)

dillweed 05-20-03 09:35 PM

Help!!!!???!!!
 
Ok, I posted the thread below about the Dell 8200 and Redhat9.
Good news: I figured out the problem on my own.
Bad News: I made the resoloution to high; now I cannot see anything on the screen, cant logon or anything.
Is there anyway to change the resoloution in text mode. I had it running nearly full screen and then decided to krank the res up to see what she could do, and now it is completely blank. Cant log into change it. HELP, IM AN IDIOT!

TRON21Net 05-20-03 10:24 PM

Get to the console, login as root.
and try this command:
pico -w /etc/X11/XF86Config

if successful it should display your X11 configuration file. Now hit CTRL+W and type this into the prompt: SubSection "Display"

now that should take you down to where X11 has your screen resolutions defined. For me I have this:
Code:

Section "Screen"
        Identifier "Screen0"
        Device    "Videocard0"
        Monitor    "Monitor0"
        DefaultDepth    24
        SubSection "Display"
                Depth    24
                Modes    "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        EndSubSection
EndSection

Now the parts in bold are your defined resolutions. Remove the first entry, NOT line, but the first entry like for me I have "1024x768".

Now hit CTRL+O and hit enter key to write the file. Now hit CTRL+X to quit Pico. Now either you reboot the machine or just log out of root and login as your normal user and then do: startx

That should do it and if not repeat as needed to remove any high resolutions your card will do but your monitor won't accept. I hope this helps you. :)

leibold 05-20-03 11:22 PM

Re: Help!!!!???!!!
 
Quote:

Originally posted by dillweed
Is there anyway to change the resoloution in text mode.
Depending on your XF86Config all you may need to do is enter Ctrl-Alt-'-' or Ctrl-Alt-'+' (plus and minus keys from numeric keypad) to toggle through all configured resolutions (doesn't work of course if you have only one resolution configured).

Edit: In the example given by TRON21Net the virtual screen resolution would be 1024x768, but actual resolution would switch between 1024x768, 800x600 and 640x480 every time you press those keys.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:13 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.