nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Benchmarking And Overclocking (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=24)
-   -   Why isnt my ram running at 1333? (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=122343)

Grechie 11-02-08 06:43 AM

Why isnt my ram running at 1333?
 
On Saturday I bought the following

XFX 790i ultra
Q9550
2X2GB Corsair XMS3 DHX Dual Path Heat Xchange PC3-10666 1333mhz cas9

I have left everything bone stock in the bios, defaults are loaded, its currently in linked mode, the cpu's running 1333fsb and i noticed in the bios the rams running 1066mhz and not 1333fsb, does anyone know why?

Also, if i unlink the cpu and memory, and up the memory to 1333fsb will i get better performance?

Thanks guys

XDanger 11-02-08 03:36 PM

Re: Why isnt my ram running at 1333?
 
1066 must be on the spd so is the default but the memory is guaranteed for 1333mhz

Do you OC the CPU?

Bman212121 11-02-08 04:24 PM

Re: Why isnt my ram running at 1333?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Grechie (Post 1831225)
On Saturday I bought the following

XFX 790i ultra
Q9550
2X2GB Corsair XMS3 DHX Dual Path Heat Xchange PC3-10666 1333mhz cas9

I have left everything bone stock in the bios, defaults are loaded, its currently in linked mode, the cpu's running 1333fsb and i noticed in the bios the rams running 1066mhz and not 1333fsb, does anyone know why?

Also, if i unlink the cpu and memory, and up the memory to 1333fsb will i get better performance?

Thanks guys

You probably have it linked with the wrong divider. You need to have a 1:1 divider to get it running at 1333mhz. I'd guess it's using a 5:4 divider right now.

If you can link it to 1:1 ratio that will provide the best performance. You might also have to up the voltage for the sticks to run at their rated speed. Run CPU-Z and you should be able to see the SPD values of the chip under the memory tab. That will list the proper voltage needed to run at 1333mhz.

http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php

Grechie 11-02-08 07:41 PM

Re: Why isnt my ram running at 1333?
 
thanks guys for your help, much appriciated, it was my fault, it was set on auto in the bios, soon as i selected linked, the option below said "sync mode" and now its running @ 1333mhz for both :)

I do have another question, now that the ram is running 1333, the timings have changed to the following:

http://i66.photobucket.com/albums/h2...e/Image012.jpg

basically now after 15 mins or so im getting hard locks in crysis....is this a timing issue?

SLippe 11-03-08 09:10 AM

Re: Why isnt my ram running at 1333?
 
You may have to manually set the Timings of your RAM, unless those are the correct Timings in the pic you posted. Check your CPU and RAM voltage, as well, to make sure you're not getting VDroop on the CPU VCore.

Bman212121 11-03-08 11:49 AM

Re: Why isnt my ram running at 1333?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Grechie (Post 1831775)
thanks guys for your help, much appriciated, it was my fault, it was set on auto in the bios, soon as i selected linked, the option below said "sync mode" and now its running @ 1333mhz for both :)

I do have another question, now that the ram is running 1333, the timings have changed to the following:

http://i66.photobucket.com/albums/h2...e/Image012.jpg

basically now after 15 mins or so im getting hard locks in crysis....is this a timing issue?

Did you set the voltage when you changed the speed? According to the datasheet it should be 1.6V to run at 9-9-9-24. If the voltage is right I would try manually changing the "Command per Clock" from 1T to 2T.

http://www.corsair.com/_datasheets/TW3X4G1333C9DHX.pdf

Grechie 11-03-08 09:12 PM

Re: Why isnt my ram running at 1333?
 
I know im rather noobish, thats why im so glad you guys are here to help, it was a VOLTAGE issue on the ram, was ment to be set to 1.6 like Bman212121 has said.

Instead of taking the pi$$ outta me you's have helped a noob in need lmao, much appriciated.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:43 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.