nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Networking And Security (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=58)
-   -   Putting SP3 on laptop get an avast Warning.. (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=123179)

XDanger 11-16-08 06:30 AM

Putting SP3 on laptop get an avast Warning..
 
saying that logonuiSS.exe is a trojan,
Is avast looking at the MD5# from the sp3 logonui.exe and thinking its not the right one for the installed SP2 so must be a virus?

AthlonXP1800 11-16-08 07:34 AM

Re: Putting SP3 on laptop get an avast Warning..
 
I got SP3 on my UMPC and checked for either files, it did not have logonuiSS.exe on it so I searched logonuiSS.exe on internet, Avast is correct that LogonuiSS.exe is a trojan virus.

Runningman 11-16-08 08:26 AM

Re: Putting SP3 on laptop get an avast Warning..
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by XDanger (Post 1846335)
saying that logonuiSS.exe is a trojan,
Is avast looking at the MD5# from the sp3 logonui.exe and thinking its not the right one for the installed SP2 so must be a virus?

When in doubt, redownload SP3 from M$. By the way, were did you get SP3 from?

XDanger 11-16-08 12:11 PM

Re: Putting SP3 on laptop get an avast Warning..
 
auto update

Its my GF's laptop , she uses Facebook :(

the Avast alert happened earlier today and I had to go do something else, I just left the Avast message on the screen and walked away...

SP3 would have finished installing ,Does it run Malicious Software tool on auto when it restarts?

Where would I find the log for that?

She says her laptop was OFF when she went to it.

einstein_314 11-17-08 10:48 PM

Re: Putting SP3 on laptop get an avast Warning..
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by XDanger (Post 1846502)
auto update

Its my GF's laptop , she uses Facebook :(

the Avast alert happened earlier today and I had to go do something else, I just left the Avast message on the screen and walked away...

SP3 would have finished installing ,Does it run Malicious Software tool on auto when it restarts?

Where would I find the log for that?

She says her laptop was OFF when she went to it.

What do you mean by "she uses Facebook".....

Facebook doesn't give you viruses. The only way you get viruses is when you're too stupid to realize that an ad for hot chicks isn't actually what it is and you click on it. Are you saying she clicks on every ad she can? Because as far as I'm aware, every "Facebook Virus" is a result of people clicking on links. Just like a spam email. If you click on them you deserve to get a virus.

Starscream 12-31-08 03:45 AM

Re: Putting SP3 on laptop get an avast Warning..
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by XDanger (Post 1846502)
auto update

Its my GF's laptop , she uses Facebook :(

the Avast alert happened earlier today and I had to go do something else, I just left the Avast message on the screen and walked away...

SP3 would have finished installing ,Does it run Malicious Software tool on auto when it restarts?

Where would I find the log for that?

She says her laptop was OFF when she went to it.

Facebook is ok, I'd be concerned if she were on assbook.

crainger 12-31-08 06:05 AM

Re: Putting SP3 on laptop get an avast Warning..
 
LOL There really is an assbook.com

I was really disappointed by it. ::(:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:02 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.