nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Home Theater A/V (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=54)
-   -   Digital Converter box for HDTV (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=123628)

Tygerwoody 11-24-08 07:51 AM

Digital Converter box for HDTV
 
So.... I was over at a friends house over the weekend. He does not have satelitte or cable. He doesn't watch TV, just like me. However, he somehow had BETTER quality HD picture than most of my cable channels and he was doing it through an ANTENNA!

So I decided to get myself an antenna(actually i built it, works fantastic, but thats for another thread). I hooked the antenna up, and low and behold I get garbage. Not because of the antenna, but because my HDTV doesn't have a built in digital tuner.

No problem, I just went to the store and bought one. I plug it up, and all my channels that I am receiving full digital signal on(this antenna works great!), still are converted to standard definition resolution. After further research, i found that this converter box I bought converts the HD signal to standard def.


So on to my question. Is there a digital converter box that actually outputs the HD signal to an HDTV?

ViN86 11-24-08 07:58 AM

Re: Digital Converter box for HDTV
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Tygerwoody (Post 1854224)
So.... I was over at a friends house over the weekend. He does not have satelitte or cable. He doesn't watch TV, just like me. However, he somehow had BETTER quality HD picture than most of my cable channels and he was doing it through an ANTENNA!

So I decided to get myself an antenna(actually i built it, works fantastic, but thats for another thread). I hooked the antenna up, and low and behold I get garbage. Not because of the antenna, but because my HDTV doesn't have a built in digital tuner.

No problem, I just went to the store and bought one. I plug it up, and all my channels that I am receiving full digital signal on(this antenna works great!), still are converted to standard definition resolution. After further research, i found that this converter box I bought converts the HD signal to standard def.


So on to my question. Is there a digital converter box that actually outputs the HD signal to an HDTV?

yea they exist. i need to get one for my tv too. let me see if i can find the link for one.

|MaguS| 11-24-08 08:00 AM

Re: Digital Converter box for HDTV
 
http://www.engadgethd.com/2006/01/30...d-demystified/

nekrosoft13 11-24-08 08:04 AM

Re: Digital Converter box for HDTV
 
this will do

http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-DTBH26.../dp/B000JV6TQY

Tr1cK 11-24-08 08:17 AM

Re: Digital Converter box for HDTV
 
I got a $5 set of rabbit ears that pwns most HD cable quality.

Heinz68 11-24-08 08:18 AM

Re: Digital Converter box for HDTV
 
@Tygerwoody
You don't need a converter, all you need is "An ATSC tuner, often called an ATSC receiver or HDTV tuner"

My Westy also doesn't have a tuner so I use the ATI TV Wonder 650 PCIe which does both digital and analog signal over the air and even the clear cable digital channels.

betterdan 11-24-08 09:03 AM

Re: Digital Converter box for HDTV
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Tygerwoody (Post 1854224)
He doesn't watch TV, just like me.

I don't get it, if you don't watch tv then why do you care about getting an ATSC tuner?

ViN86 11-24-08 09:08 AM

Re: Digital Converter box for HDTV
 
i think you want something like this Tyger:

SAMSUNG DTB-H260F DIGITAL HDTV RECEIVER
http://www.hdtvexpert.com/pages_b/h260f.html

it's a little pricey, but it has HDMI out and supports 1080i.

EDIT:

Quote:

Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 (Post 1854231)

ditto...

Tygerwoody 11-24-08 01:25 PM

Re: Digital Converter box for HDTV
 
I found some DirecT TV HDTV receivers on ebay going for pretty cheap. I wonder if they would work fine for what I want? All i need is the DirectTV card, which most of them include.

Sound good?

betterdan 11-24-08 01:38 PM

Re: Digital Converter box for HDTV
 
My Directv HR20 DVR has an ATSC tuner built in, 2 of them actually. The newer models leave the tuner out. I think you can run the tuner part without activating it with Directv but I'm not sure.
What are the models you are looking at on Ebay?

ViN86 11-25-08 10:40 PM

Re: Digital Converter box for HDTV
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Tygerwoody (Post 1854555)
I found some DirecT TV HDTV receivers on ebay going for pretty cheap. I wonder if they would work fine for what I want? All i need is the DirectTV card, which most of them include.

Sound good?

do you need to setup a dish?

evilchris 11-26-08 07:42 PM

Re: Digital Converter box for HDTV
 
Cable/Sat "HD" is compressed garbage. OTA is the way to go but of course limited to whatever you can receive.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:52 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.