nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=60)
-   -   Flashing the BIOS on a GTX 280 while in SLI (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=124008)

AdamK47 12-01-08 04:23 PM

Flashing the BIOS on a GTX 280 while in SLI
 
How do I flash the BIOS on both these board when their in SLI?

john19055 12-02-08 01:56 PM

Re: Flashing the BIOS on a GTX 280 while in SLI
 
I don't recomend flashing the bios when you have rivatuner that will let you overclock.But be sure you know what you are doing before you flash the bios.And you should always pull one out and flash one at a time,never try to flash two at the same time ,or you could have some high dollar papper weights.

AdamK47 12-02-08 02:52 PM

Re: Flashing the BIOS on a GTX 280 while in SLI
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by john19055 (Post 1861736)
I don't recomend flashing the bios when you have rivatuner that will let you overclock.But be sure you know what you are doing before you flash the bios.And you should always pull one out and flash one at a time,never try to flash two at the same time ,or you could have some high dollar papper weights.

I'm not looking to flash them to overclock. I already do that through eVGA Precision. I just want to get the BIOS versions of both eVGA GTX 280 boards on the same BIOS version. The second card I bought recently while the other one I bought in August. They each have a different BIOS version.

Roliath 12-02-08 03:58 PM

Re: Flashing the BIOS on a GTX 280 while in SLI
 
you can use nvflash to flash em, just use the flag -i 1/2 to specify which card you want to flash.
pm me if you have any questions, i've flashed both my cards while in sli without issues (many times, trying out my own vmodded bioses)

AdamK47 12-02-08 05:43 PM

Re: Flashing the BIOS on a GTX 280 while in SLI
 
Thanks! That's exactly what I needed to know.

AdamK47 12-03-08 09:19 AM

Re: Flashing the BIOS on a GTX 280 while in SLI
 
I used GPU-Z to download the newer BIOS off of the newer card. After opening it up with NiBiTor I noticed the 3D Voltage was 1.11V rather than the 1.06V that's specified in the BIOS on the older card. The "Extra" voltage remained the same at 1.18V. I don't know if that's a good thing or not. I went ahead and flashed the BIOS on the older card with the newer BIOS from the newer card. The index for the cards is actually 0/1 not 1/2. Anyway, I used index 0 and flashed the card without error.

I was curious if overclocking improved at all and suprisingly enough it did. Before flashing that one card I could get 650MHz core, 1350MHz shader, and 1200MHz memory. Now I have both cards at 700MHz core, 1400MHz shader, and 1200MHz memory. It could also be because I upgraded everything else in the system at the same time that helped, including the power supply.

Roliath 12-03-08 04:45 PM

Re: Flashing the BIOS on a GTX 280 while in SLI
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by AdamK47 (Post 1862655)
I used GPU-Z to download the newer BIOS off of the newer card. After opening it up with NiBiTor I noticed the 3D Voltage was 1.11V rather than the 1.06V that's specified in the BIOS on the older card. The "Extra" voltage remained the same at 1.18V. I don't know if that's a good thing or not. I went ahead and flashed the BIOS on the older card with the newer BIOS from the newer card. The index for the cards is actually 0/1 not 1/2. Anyway, I used index 0 and flashed the card without error.

I was curious if overclocking improved at all and suprisingly enough it did. Before flashing that one card I could get 650MHz core, 1350MHz shader, and 1200MHz memory. Now I have both cards at 700MHz core, 1400MHz shader, and 1200MHz memory. It could also be because I upgraded everything else in the system at the same time that helped, including the power supply.

Yeah the index starts at 0/1/2+, sorry but in my setup there was an entry listed as 0 and I could not get rid of it nor knew where it came from.

I had flashed my GTX260's to 1.18v and was able to get a decent overclock out of it but there was too much heat to put out.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:05 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.