nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=60)
-   -   NVIDIA's 55nm-based GTX 260 to get 1.5GB memory! (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=124226)

MaxFX 12-05-08 12:33 PM

NVIDIA's 55nm-based GTX 260 to get 1.5GB memory!
 
"Quote!
This card features Volterra multiphase power regulation (no more Nvidia squealing, yes!), 14 memory chips (instead of standard seven) and 55nm GT200-103-B2 chip. 14 memory chips leaves room for cards with 1.5 GB of GDDR3 memory, and if dual-bank is used, GTX260 can support 3GB memory on the single card.
"End of Quote!

http://theovalich.wordpress.com/2008...-gb-of-memory/

Woow if this is true, if so im glad I waited for the next card as GTA4 should fly with this card on hightextures :D

Amaury 12-08-08 04:44 PM

Re: NVIDIA's 55nm-based GTX 260 to get 1.5GB memory!
 
wow. more reason to wait for these cards. patience grasshoppers. Mirrror's Edge in January with Nvidia PhysX, the hope of running GTA4 faster with FSAA, and FEAR 2 in Feb.

Amaury 12-08-08 04:49 PM

Re: NVIDIA's 55nm-based GTX 260 to get 1.5GB memory!
 
I wonder how overclockable those 55nm cores are going to be? Over 800mhz?

Feyy 12-08-08 06:14 PM

Re: NVIDIA's 55nm-based GTX 260 to get 1.5GB memory!
 
Meh, im waiting for new architecture.

Toss3 12-08-08 07:56 PM

Re: NVIDIA's 55nm-based GTX 260 to get 1.5GB memory!
 
1,5Gb? Hmm gonna be interesting to see how ATi responds to this. Have the prices of gddr5 gone down at all or is this going to cost a fortune?

XMAN52373 12-08-08 09:39 PM

Re: NVIDIA's 55nm-based GTX 260 to get 1.5GB memory!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by MaxFX (Post 1864947)
"Quote!
This card features Volterra multiphase power regulation (no more Nvidia squealing, yes!), 14 memory chips (instead of standard seven) and 55nm GT200-103-B2 chip. 14 memory chips leaves room for cards with 1.5 GB of GDDR3 memory, and if dual-bank is used, GTX260 can support 3GB memory on the single card.
"End of Quote!

http://theovalich.wordpress.com/2008...-gb-of-memory/

Woow if this is true, if so im glad I waited for the next card as GTA4 should fly with this card on hightextures :D


1. 280 and 260 cards memory on both sides, dont believe me, look again.
2. There are no spaces to add more memory, the backside to each memory chip has resistors(backside=opisite side of pcb from each memory chip), just where exactly are they going to put them?

rage10 12-08-08 09:47 PM

Re: NVIDIA's 55nm-based GTX 260 to get 1.5GB memory!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by XMAN52373 (Post 1868379)
1. 280 and 260 cards memory on both sides, dont believe me, look again.
2. There are no spaces to add more memory, the backside to each memory chip has resistors(backside=opisite side of pcb from each memory chip), just where exactly are they going to put them?

that was my question. Also, what are you going to do with 1.5 GBs of vram? 1 is more then enough for 95% of games out there. the only thing I can think of that will use the extra ram is autocad. and 3 GBs? you"ll need 6+ GBs of ram to have decent system preformance with that huge frame buffer.

Amaury 12-08-08 09:51 PM

Re: NVIDIA's 55nm-based GTX 260 to get 1.5GB memory!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by rage10 (Post 1868390)
that was my question. Also, what are you going to do with 1.5 GBs of vram?

http://i164.photobucket.com/albums/u...8-28-39-84.jpg + improved patch.

MaxFX 12-09-08 06:27 AM

Re: NVIDIA's 55nm-based GTX 260 to get 1.5GB memory!
 
Dont know if it's true about the ram but as I said it would be pretty good to have in GTA4 and for upcoming games so let's just hope it's true. this card seems like the card I will get. more power and more mem, thats exactly what I have been waiting for like forever now. bring it out nVidia :D

Spyke 12-09-08 05:33 PM

Re: NVIDIA's 55nm-based GTX 260 to get 1.5GB memory!
 
As was said, this board layout changes all the ram chips to one side of the board. Nowhere do I see room for 3GB of memory. Standard GTX 260's already have 14 chips.
Yes, 1.8GB is possible on G200 based cards, they're already using double density chips in the latest 1.5GB Quadro cards. You will pay for these chips however, don't expect no $500 graphics cards using double density chips. Nor would I expect double density chips to clock as well, unless the move to GDDR5 finally happens.

NaitoSan 12-09-08 05:52 PM

Re: NVIDIA's 55nm-based GTX 260 to get 1.5GB memory!
 
Nice. I'm still waiting for next line-up with new architecture. I'm still on ol 8800GTX.

nrdstrm 12-09-08 05:58 PM

Re: NVIDIA's 55nm-based GTX 260 to get 1.5GB memory!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by NaitoSan (Post 1869733)
Nice. I'm still waiting for next line-up with new architecture. I'm still on ol 8800GTX.

Same here. I was to busy to do PC gaming, but I got layed off yesterday, so I suppose I'll start gaming more again. Fortunately, I turned down a job last week and they hadn't filled the position yet. It's a much easier job, so I'll have more time. I still want to wait for new architecture though.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:31 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.