nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=60)
-   -   Would my PSU handle at 280GTX? (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=124320)

Pennyboy 12-07-08 03:41 PM

Would my PSU handle at 280GTX?
 
Hey can someone please advise whether my 600W enermax would handle a 280GTX? or will i need to buy a new one? see sig for more details.

DeusGear 12-07-08 05:51 PM

Re: Would my PSU handle at 280GTX?
 
Probably no problem. I ran a gtx280 and running an hd4870x2 with the rest of my specs on a 620hx.

Pennyboy 12-07-08 06:56 PM

Re: Would my PSU handle at 280GTX?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by DeusGear (Post 1867022)
Probably no problem. I ran a gtx280 and running an hd4870x2 with the rest of my specs on a 620hx.

Ok great thanks. I will give it a go and if i run into problems i will get a 750W Enermax or Corsair PSU.

Muppet 12-08-08 12:19 AM

Re: Would my PSU handle at 280GTX?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Pennyboy (Post 1867134)
Ok great thanks. I will give it a go and if i run into problems i will get a 750W Enermax or Corsair PSU.

Should be fine for your system. If you are thinking of changing, grab one of the Corsair units. They are very good for what you pay.

Pennyboy 12-12-08 08:02 PM

Re: Would my PSU handle at 280GTX?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Muppet (Post 1867396)
Should be fine for your system. If you are thinking of changing, grab one of the Corsair units. They are very good for what you pay.


Yeah, i was thinking of upgrading to the 1000W corsair at a later date. Will run with my 600W enermax for a bit longer. My new GTX280 is due in this week!

Monnie Rock 12-12-08 10:25 PM

Re: Would my PSU handle at 280GTX?
 
+1 The Corsair HX1000 is an excellent unit. The next step up from that is the Thermaltake 1200. Both built on the Channel Well PUC design. :thumbsup:

Thank you,
Monnie

MowTin 12-13-08 10:40 AM

Re: Would my PSU handle at 280GTX?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Pennyboy (Post 1866842)
Hey can someone please advise whether my 600W enermax would handle a 280GTX? or will i need to buy a new one? see sig for more details.

I have the same question. I have a large atx case with a lot of big fans. Just 3 hard drives,dvd-r, GTS all running on 600W.

Could I just pop in a 280GTX no problem?

Monnie Rock 12-13-08 11:37 PM

Re: Would my PSU handle at 280GTX?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by DarthBeavis (Post 1874015)
I suspect they have problems with EVGA 790i boards . . .would stay away if you use that mobo.


Strange, Jackup had a EVGA 790i and a thermaltake 1200


Thank you,
Monnie

Pennyboy 12-18-08 03:32 PM

Re: Would my PSU handle at 280GTX?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by DarthBeavis (Post 1874015)
I suspect they have problems with EVGA 790i boards . . .would stay away if you use that mobo.

Is there any reports of problems with ASUS 680i based boards?

I am still waiting on my GTX280, the supplier of ASUS cards in NZ forgot to send it to the shop I am buying it from then he sold it from under me and I have paid for the card in full. I was not happy, but luckily another supplier has stock so with a bit of luck I should have it on Monday now.

Bee_Dee_3_Dee 12-31-08 11:01 PM

Re: Would my PSU handle at 280GTX?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by DeusGear (Post 1867022)
Probably no problem. I ran a gtx280 and running an hd4870x2 with the rest of my specs on a 620hx.

620hx Rules with a GTX280! http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817139002

I have a 620hx Power Supply(Maximum Power 620W) and can run a GTX280, five HDDs, one Dual TV Card, and one DVD-Recorder and the results of doing so are not getting one single BSOD. I can record two TV shows and at the same time play Crysis, or FEAR, or BF2, or Fallout 3, or FC2, etc... with XFire and Vent and Intranet Browser for work (I'm alt+Tabbing constantly). Nothing stops this rig and only a 620W PSU.

But I wouldn't risk trying anything else power supply wise, that is 650W or less. The 620hx's reputation is as good as it gets for a single video card rig. Plus, as a result of its smaller architecture the GTX285 will require less power than it's predecessor (GTX280) while still performing 10% better. w00t! :)

My 3.0GHz Wolfdale (Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 Wolfdale 3.0GHz CPU) is only at 3.7GHz to 3.75GHz and not 4.0GHz, for the purpose of being able to go in and out of sleep mode with Vista anytime I want. But now that I think of it; that was with my 8800GTX. So maybe I can go beyond 3.7GHz on Wolfdale and have no probs with sleep mode with my GTX280. But I mite as well play it safe.

Note: In order to aid in the validation of having only a 620W PSU, and if it was powerful enough for my brand new BFG GTX280 Video Card; when I first got the GTX280 I did not OC the my Wolfdale for the first 50 days. And now for the past 50 days with the CPU @ 3.7GHz, my PC still rocks and NO, NONE, NOTTA single BSOD whatsoever.

This configuration ROCKS! And with only a $79 MOBO mind u. :D Spend ur money on the best PSU and not on a MOBO with features u get for future proofing sake and never end up using anyway. :)

*620hx Rules! *620hx Rules! *620hx Rules!

BABIC 01-01-09 08:12 PM

Re: Would my PSU handle at 280GTX?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Bee_Dee_3_Dee (Post 1889470)

Nice PSU but there are better ones out there that cost a good bit less than the one you paid for.


$99 before MIR 52amps on a single 12v rail :)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817139005

$119 before MIR 60amps on a single 12v rail and 750 watts. :o
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817139006

saturnotaku 01-01-09 08:54 PM

Re: Would my PSU handle at 280GTX?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BABIC (Post 1890185)
Nice PSU but there are better ones out there that cost a good bit less than the one you paid for.


$99 before MIR 52amps on a single 12v rail :)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817139005

$119 before MIR 60amps on a single 12v rail and 750 watts. :o
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817139006

No need to repeat yourself, Jackson.

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show...&postcount=101


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:40 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.