nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=60)
-   -   Flashing the GTX 260 (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=124436)

Blacklash 12-09-08 11:11 PM

Flashing the GTX 260
 
Here's how I flash my GTX 260s.

First I always use my original BIOS as the base for the new BIOS. I save a back up then mod and save the BIOS as something else. I use short names like E20.

What you need is NiBiTor, NVflash 5.67 or better, and GPU-Z is optional. I save my BIOS with GPU-Z because for some reason NiBiTor doesn't want to extract it on Vista x64 SP1.

I create a DR-Dos boot DVD with Nero. I place that in my primary DVD drive. I keep Nvflash, GPU-Z, NiBiTor and all my BIOS files in a folder I created on my C drive called NV.

I back up my original BIOS, then open it and mod it. Save it as something else in the NV folder. I make sure the file extensions are .rom and not .bin. Any .bin gets changed to .rom.

Once I have my BIOS ready in the NV folder I restart with the DR Dos DVD in my primary DVD drive. I go through its prompts until I can navigate to my C drive. Then I type cd nv\. After that nvflash -4 -5 -6 <insert your BIOS>.rom here. Hit Y when prompted. Restart and you're done.

As always flash at your own risk. If you decide to do it, it's on you. I flashed my cards because I wanted the core, memory and shader clock to be identical for SLi. Yes, I know that isn't necessary.

This isn't the only way to do it and it worked well and painless for me.

Tools-

NiBiTor-
http://majorgeeks.com/NVIDIA_BIOS_Ed...Tor_d3122.html
GPU-Z
http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads...-Z_v0.3.0.html
Nvflash 5.67
http://www.mvktech.net/component/opt...rent,category/

Spyke 12-09-08 11:16 PM

Re: Flashing the GTX 260
 
If you do a lot of flashing like I do, a bootable freedos USB drive works wonders.

john19055 12-10-08 05:13 AM

Re: Flashing the GTX 260
 
I thought about flashing my other BFG so they would have the same clocks ,as I did with my 8800GTS 640mb ,but since it works perfect when I have the fastest card in slot one ,I see no sence in doing it.But I may before it is over I too, like haveing both of my cards have the same clocks .

ryan29121 12-18-08 09:40 AM

Re: Flashing the GTX 260
 
What does BIOS flashing to a GFX card even do? Is the only benefit from it is that you get to change clock speeds and voltages?

ATOJAR 12-18-08 09:50 AM

Re: Flashing the GTX 260
 
Its alot more stable than using a thrid party program, like take my GTX260, its flashed to the speeds in my sig, the cards fan has been flashed to 55% default ... it will run like this no matter what, no overclocking tools are needed.

ryan29121 12-18-08 10:02 AM

Re: Flashing the GTX 260
 
Ok i understand. So instead of using a program like rivatuner you just flash a new BIOS with the overclocks? A more stable way of overclocking. Makes sense. I will have to try it on my 8800gt to see if i can get some more stable results.

ATOJAR 12-18-08 02:32 PM

Re: Flashing the GTX 260
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ryan29121 (Post 1878781)
Ok i understand. So instead of using a program like rivatuner you just flash a new BIOS with the overclocks?

Exactly. Not only that but you can up your voltage and that could result in a even higher overclock. (nana2)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:39 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.