nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=60)
-   -   No AA and Anizo in games 260 GTX 216 cores (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=125329)

woj7asQ 12-27-08 12:53 PM

No AA and Anizo in games 260 GTX 216 cores
 
Hi my Specs:

Procesor Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 3.0GHz BOX
Gigabyte GA-G31M-S2L Socket 775
DDR2 A-Data 4GB PC800 2x2GB BOX extreme
ThermalTake TR2 RX 550W
SAMSUNG F1 500GB 7200 OBR.16MB SATA II, NCQ
Gigabyte GeForce GTX 260 216 PS 896MB DDR3/448b PCI-E OC
SYSTEM VISTA X64 drivers 180.48

For some reason Anti-Aliasing is not working for me.
In all games i play AA and Anizo dont work
Crysis all very high
http://i9.piccy.info.nyud.net/i2/90/...c04df8b1b.jpeg
look in shadows.
In 3dmark the same problem.

hemmy 12-28-08 10:33 AM

Re: No AA and Anizo in games 260 GTX 216 cores
 
How are you setting it in your control panel?

Application Controlled, enhance, override, etc...?

Toss3 12-28-08 11:16 AM

Re: No AA and Anizo in games 260 GTX 216 cores
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by woj7asQ (Post 1885902)
Hi my Specs:

Procesor Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 3.0GHz BOX
Gigabyte GA-G31M-S2L Socket 775
DDR2 A-Data 4GB PC800 2x2GB BOX extreme
ThermalTake TR2 RX 550W
SAMSUNG F1 500GB 7200 OBR.16MB SATA II, NCQ
Gigabyte GeForce GTX 260 216 PS 896MB DDR3/448b PCI-E OC
SYSTEM VISTA X64 drivers 180.48

For some reason Anti-Aliasing is not working for me.
In all games i play AA and Anizo dont work
Crysis all very high
http://i9.piccy.info.nyud.net/i2/90/...c04df8b1b.jpeg
look in shadows.
In 3dmark the same problem.

AA seems to be working just fine - AA won't make the shadows look better(try playing around with the shadows settings instead in the console). ;)

JasonPC 12-29-08 12:06 AM

Re: No AA and Anizo in games 260 GTX 216 cores
 
Right you'd have to play around with the shadow settings in the config file or download a premade config with improved shadows. I think the roughness of the shadow has something to do with the jittering setting or something. Otherwise that screenshot looks great. Notice the lines of the walls, the painting, and those metal pieces look fairly sharp.

john19055 12-29-08 12:09 AM

Re: No AA and Anizo in games 260 GTX 216 cores
 
On some games you need to leave your contol pannel at default and set them in your games and others you may have to over ride the game settings with the nvidia control pannel to get them to work.Most of the time I just set my nvidia control pannel to what I want and over ride the game settings and it works about 80% of the time.

Bee_Dee_3_Dee 01-02-09 11:16 PM

Re: No AA and Anizo in games 260 GTX 216 cores
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by woj7asQ (Post 1885902)
Hi my Specs:

Procesor Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 3.0GHz BOX
Gigabyte GA-G31M-S2L Socket 775
DDR2 A-Data 4GB PC800 2x2GB BOX extreme
ThermalTake TR2 RX 550W
SAMSUNG F1 500GB 7200 OBR.16MB SATA II, NCQ
Gigabyte GeForce GTX 260 216 PS 896MB DDR3/448b PCI-E OC
SYSTEM VISTA X64 drivers 180.48

For some reason Anti-Aliasing is not working for me.
In all games i play AA and Anizo dont work
Crysis all very high
http://i9.piccy.info.nyud.net/i2/90/...c04df8b1b.jpeg
look in shadows.
In 3dmark the same problem.

It sounds very obviously like a driver issue.

If you have upgraded your video card and did not do a "Clean Install" of a fresh new driver, then that is where to start.

If this GTX260 is the first and only Video Card in ur computer, then a "Clean Install" of the same driver, is where to start.

Next, you want to understand the nVidia Control panel, and how it works, versus the video settings inside each game (Ingame settings). And then, basic combinations between the nVidia Control Panel and the Ingame settings.

Google is the best approach if you don't have a friend that can stand next to you and explain. But I bet the next best thing is Youtube Dot Com. ;)

The combinations are not too crazy if you learn that the nVidia Control panel is best used by starting with all default settings on the "Global settings Tab" (nVidia Control panel/ 3D Settings/ Manage 3D settings/ Global settings Tab) and never change any of them. What you do want to try combinations with are on the "Program Settings Tab" for the individual Games (its next to the "Global settings Tab"). But only after using Ingame settings only, combined with all defaults in the "Global settings Tab".

I bought the first 8800GTX from CompUSA Dot Com (Nov. 14th '06 I think... *Memories***) and the nVidia drivers sucked so bad it was just sick. But they are nearly perfect now (for individual Games wise). In fact because I have never SLIed, I now never touch the nVidia Control Panel and I leave everything at default and set things only with Ingame with just one exception.

That exception is with the game BF2. For BF2 I have to use nVidia Control panel's "Program Settings Tab" to manually set AA to "16xQ"; AA Mode to, "Enhanced the application settings"; and set Ingame (Video Settings in BF2) to, "4XAA".

So hear is an example of combinations and how BF2 has to be set in order to obtain AA at, 16xQ: (For GTX280 and GTX260.)

I.
A. nVidia Control panel/ Global settings Tab/ all default settings.
B. nVidia Control panel/ Program Settings Tab/ BF2: AA, "Application Controlled"; AA Mode, "Application Controlled".
C. Set BF2 Ingame AA to, "0XAA"; or "2XAA"; or "4XAA"; or "8XAA".

Result= Maybe you get 2X, 4X, 8X, ;) But I want "16xQ" ;)

II.
A. nVidia Control panel/ Global settings Tab/ all default settings.
B. nVidia Control panel/ Program Settings Tab/ BF2: AA to, "16xQ"; AA Mode to, "Enhanced the application settings".
C. Set BF2 Ingame AA to, "0XAA"; or "2XAA"; or or "8XAA".

Result= no AA or worse ;)

III.
A. nVidia Control panel/ Global settings Tab/ all default settings.
B. nVidia Control panel/ Program Settings Tab/ BF2: AA, "16xQ"; AA Mode, "Enhanced".
C. Set BF2 Ingame AA to, "4XAA".

Result= Works! and I get AA at, "16xQ" ;) w00t!

Even though I outlined three things there were really eight combinations. ;)

Remember:

1. "Clean Install" of a fresh driver is where to start. (Google it... combos of, "Clean+Install+nVidia+Driver") Basically, uninstall, then use a utility to clean up to insure getting all default settings back and also to insure getting rid of stuff left by previous drivers if applicable- mostly when one or more cards and one or more drivers existed. But mostly for the default setting part in the case of only one card and one driver ever existing.

2. Use all default settings on the "Global settings Tab" (nVidia Control panel/ 3D Settings/ Manage 3D settings/ Global settings Tab) and never change any of them.

3. Basic combinations between the "Program Settings Tab" (nVidia Control panel/ 3D Settings/ Manage 3D settings/ Program Settings Tab- use drop down menu to select individual Games); and Ingame settings within a Game itself. But first, only use Ingame settings to determine if u need to go to the nVidia Control Panel.

Note: This entire post pertains to configuring AA. :)

GL
.
.
.
.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:57 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.