nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Crysis (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=59)
-   -   Why are 3x GTX 280s lagging in Crysis a 2560x1600? (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=125348)

Bokishi 12-28-08 04:33 AM

Why are 3x GTX 280s lagging in Crysis a 2560x1600?
 
I reinstall this POS after xmas upgrade only to find that it is only 15 fps in dx10 very high mode at my 30" moniter's native resolution. WTF I got these 3-teraflop meat patties that get owned by a two year old game, that can't be right. is it because of my dual core processor? I thought Crysis only uses 2 cores. Every other game runs fantastic. can someone help me pinpoint the problem

ATi 12-28-08 05:15 AM

Re: Why are 3x GTX 280s lagging in Crysis a 2560x1600?
 
What drivers are you using?Is SLI on?!?

your cpu is fine try different drivers

Toss3 12-28-08 05:33 AM

Re: Why are 3x GTX 280s lagging in Crysis a 2560x1600?
 
1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by Bokishi (Post 1886235)
I reinstall this POS after xmas upgrade only to find that it is only 15 fps in dx10 very high mode at my 30" moniter's native resolution. WTF I got these 3-teraflop meat patties that get owned by a two year old game, that can't be right. is it because of my dual core processor? I thought Crysis only uses 2 cores. Every other game runs fantastic. can someone help me pinpoint the problem

Well even though it's two years old it's still the prettiest and most demanding game out there. So even three 280GTXs in tri-sli won't run it at that resolution - not even a core i7 would help you there.

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/atta...1&d=1230463934


You should try the CCC custom crysis config to see if that would make the game playable! :)

BioHazZarD 12-28-08 06:13 AM

Re: Why are 3x GTX 280s lagging in Crysis a 2560x1600?
 
Yikes so still so long after u need a damn NASA to play at that res :(

m3dude 12-28-08 07:03 AM

Re: Why are 3x GTX 280s lagging in Crysis a 2560x1600?
 
its a vidmem limitation, thats why performance drops off so steeply after 1920x1200.

Tomato 12-28-08 07:48 PM

Re: Why are 3x GTX 280s lagging in Crysis a 2560x1600?
 
Do this:
http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=274718

Trust me.

Bman212121 12-28-08 07:52 PM

Re: Why are 3x GTX 280s lagging in Crysis a 2560x1600?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Tomato (Post 1886624)
Do this:
Throw Crysis in the garbage can where it belongs

Trust me.

Fixe :p

Soetdjuret 12-28-08 08:11 PM

Re: Why are 3x GTX 280s lagging in Crysis a 2560x1600?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Toss3 (Post 1886241)
Well even though it's two years old it's still the prettiest and most demanding game out there. So even three 280GTXs in tri-sli won't run it at that resolution - not even a core i7 would help you there.

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/atta...1&d=1230463934


You should try the CCC custom crysis config to see if that would make the game playable! :)

You're wrong, the one with GTX 280's in 3-WAY SLI sure can play at Veryhigh settings in 2560x1600. I don't know what's up with the graph you posted, but according to guru3d witch is a trustable site you get nearly 40 fps on those settings, not 14 lol.


Check it out!
http://img1.hugeup.com/f/12282008/7fbe3eb9f58.jpg

http://www.guru3d.com/article/geforc...review-test/13


rofl, crysis is one hellova demanding game. I've yet to see a system that can max this game out with full ingame settings (ya, including 16xQAA) I believe you should try different drivers or something else, unfortunately am no expert so don't ask me. I just wanted to prove my point!

Cheers...

Bokishi 12-29-08 12:14 AM

Re: Why are 3x GTX 280s lagging in Crysis a 2560x1600?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Tomato (Post 1886624)

Thank you! That fixed every level except the snow level, which still lags. Any fixes for the snow level?

Tr1cK 12-29-08 06:39 AM

Re: Why are 3x GTX 280s lagging in Crysis a 2560x1600?
 
Unoptimized POS is the correct answer.

evox 12-29-08 07:16 AM

Re: Why are 3x GTX 280s lagging in Crysis a 2560x1600?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Tr1cK (Post 1886851)
Nothing constructive, I'm just trolling.

Fixed.

Tr1cK 12-29-08 07:22 AM

Re: Why are 3x GTX 280s lagging in Crysis a 2560x1600?
 
Trolling indeed, did I hurt the fanboys feelings? lol


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:16 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.