nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   HDMI works initially but wont work after changing to TV and then back to HDMI (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=127598)

geisj 02-05-09 03:37 PM

HDMI works initially but wont work after changing to TV and then back to HDMI
 
I have an motherboard based on NVidia 8200.
M3N78-VM to be exact.

On initial boot the HDMI comes up and everything seems fine. I am using x86_64-180.22 driver.

However, once I change my LCD/HDMI to TV and then back to HDMI the screen is blank.
When I reboot my PC the BIOS screen how shows the video on the HDMI again.

Is something wrong in the driver that is not handling this switch of modes????

I have an ATI based motherboard that handles this just fine. I'd like the nvidia one to work.

What can you suggest?

Jerry

s0be 02-06-09 07:33 AM

Re: HDMI works initially but wont work after changing to TV and then back to HDMI
 
First, this is not meant to be an insult, I've run into this...

is there a chance that dpms/powersave has blanked the screen? Have you tried pressing something on the keyboard?

Probably so, next, does your tv have a 'Status' dialog you can bring up that would show 720p/1080p/no signal?

s0be 02-06-09 07:35 AM

Re: HDMI works initially but wont work after changing to TV and then back to HDMI
 
(oh, and it must be hardware specific, unless it's the dpms/powersave issue, as I have an 8500gt w/hdmi and I switch back and forth all the time between it and my ps3 on my tv with no similar issue, aside from the powersave/screensaver issue)

geisj 02-06-09 07:59 AM

Re: HDMI works initially but wont work after changing to TV and then back to HDMI
 
I have a Sharp Aquos 37 display.
I have dpms turned off. my PC output is always active...

I went through the menus of the TV and I cant find anything that shows what the current display
information is. When the NVIDIA PC boots it comes up in 1080p. I see that on the pop-up display on the LCD.

What else can I try/do?

Jerry

zim2dive 02-06-09 08:11 AM

Re: HDMI works initially but wont work after changing to TV and then back to HDMI
 
Not sure if directly related, but I found that with my nvidia 8200, if I let the PC boot with the TV off, I could never get a picture (after turning the TV on). If I booted with the TV on, the machine could sleep and I'd always get a picture back (1080p TV via HDMI)

geisj 02-06-09 08:57 AM

Re: HDMI works initially but wont work after changing to TV and then back to HDMI
 
I tried doing the CTRL-ALT-F1 and I get no display.
I then tried going back to ALT-F7 and still no display.

Jerry

geisj 02-06-09 09:02 AM

Re: HDMI works initially but wont work after changing to TV and then back to HDMI
 
I ssh'ed into the box. did init 3, then startx -- -logverbose 10.
This was in the log file after that.

(==) NVIDIA(0): Video key set to default value of 0x101fe
(II) NVIDIA(0): Support for GLX with the Damage and Composite X extensions is
(II) NVIDIA(0): enabled.
(II) NVIDIA(GPU-0): No display devices connected; falling back to: CRT-0
(WW) NVIDIA(GPU-0): Unable to read EDID for display device CRT-0
(II) NVIDIA(0): NVIDIA GPU GeForce 8200 (C77) at PCI:2:0:0 (GPU-0)
(--) NVIDIA(0): Memory: 524288 kBytes
(II) NVIDIA(0): GPU RAM Type: DDR2
(--) NVIDIA(0): VideoBIOS: 62.77.19.00.00


Now what?

Jerry

s0be 02-06-09 05:44 PM

Re: HDMI works initially but wont work after changing to TV and then back to HDMI
 
I have an aquos 32 inch 1080p, and don't have this problem. On my controller, it's 'display' (between source and light at the top of the controller) to see what it detects. I can have the tv off or on, on a different input, and whatnot, before or after booting the system. I've never found a setup that didn't work. Chance of a flakey hdmi cable? Is it straight hdmi or dvi to hdmi?

zim2dive 02-07-09 08:46 AM

Re: HDMI works initially but wont work after changing to TV and then back to HDMI
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by s0be (Post 1925082)
I have an aquos 32 inch 1080p, and don't have this problem. On my controller, it's 'display' (between source and light at the top of the controller) to see what it detects. I can have the tv off or on, on a different input, and whatnot, before or after booting the system. I've never found a setup that didn't work. Chance of a flakey hdmi cable? Is it straight hdmi or dvi to hdmi?

Not sure who you were asking.. in my case, I was using straight HDMI to my 47" LCD.

Seems like if it doesn't find the LCD info at boot time, it won't try again, and/or boot and decides there is no display (then) and can't tell (later) when the LCD is on.

Or it could be a trait of linux (Ubuntu 8.10), I don;t know. Guess I can try booting in windows and see what happens there.

geisj 02-08-09 07:20 AM

Re: HDMI works initially but wont work after changing to TV and then back to HDMI
 
I am straight HDMI to HDMI its only 6 feet long.
Dont think the cable is the problem. That same cable works in a motherboard with ATI chipset.

If I use a DVI to HDMI converter it works. However, thats not what I am trying to do
I want sound over HDMI also.

Jerry

geisj 02-10-09 10:06 PM

Re: HDMI works initially but wont work after changing to TV and then back to HDMI
 
Sounds like there are BIG problems with this issue:

http://vip.asus.com/forum/view.aspx?...Language=en-us

How do we get some support?

Jerry

John Giddens 04-20-09 11:27 AM

Re: HDMI works initially but wont work after changing to TV and then back to HDMI
 
I have the same issue and it is extremly annoying to have to reboot
every time after switching from tv to pc

http://xbmc.org/forum/showthread.php?t=49072

here is some info on how i have mine set up


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:34 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.