nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Should there be an option to disable Powermizer? (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=128635)

kantlivelong 02-19-09 08:14 AM

Should there be an option to disable Powermizer?
 
I am getting tired of this powermizer BS, its always worked like crap! I want my GPU at full power at all times without hacks.


Ive decided to create this poll to help give the users a voice that can be heard about the powermizer issue.

Vote on whether or not you think there should be an option to fully disable Powermizer!

(If your currently not a member of nvnews.net forum, make an account. Otherwise this may never happen)

ieti 02-19-09 08:51 AM

Re: Should there be an option to disable Powermizer?
 
Please NVidia i beg you give us option to disable that thing. Last driver that i used and there is no PowerMizer is 100.14.19. With it all work flawlessly. I have a desktop computer and my graphics card is overclocked by manufacturer. I need max performance, not power saving. Please put a setting to disable it.

clarious 02-19-09 08:54 AM

Re: Should there be an option to disable Powermizer?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by kantlivelong (Post 1936656)
I am getting tired of this powermizer BS, its always worked like crap! I want my GPU at full power at all times without hacks.


Ive decided to create this poll to help give the users a voice that can be heard about the powermizer issue.

Vote on whether or not you think there should be an option to fully disable Powermizer!

(If your currently not a member of nvnews.net forum, make an account. Otherwise this may never happen)

While I have absolutely no problem with my 8600M GT card, I still think it is neccessary for nvidia driver to have an option that will disable PowerMizer if needed. The nvidia driver for windows XP has an option to do this, and there is no reason for not to have it on linux.

tier 02-19-09 08:58 AM

Re: Should there be an option to disable Powermizer?
 
I'd just want it to keep my nvidia in the low power mode. No need to have higher power consumption and heat production only because I'm scrolling a website.

kernelOfTruth 02-19-09 10:08 AM

Re: Should there be an option to disable Powermizer?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by tier (Post 1936684)
I'd just want it to keep my nvidia in the low power mode. No need to have higher power consumption and heat production only because I'm scrolling a website.

++

just add 3 options:
- disable
- enable
- auto (old behavior)

kantlivelong 02-19-09 01:45 PM

Re: Should there be an option to disable Powermizer?
 
BUMP

busbus 02-19-09 04:29 PM

Re: Should there be an option to disable Powermizer?
 
bump

dirtyboy 02-19-09 06:13 PM

Re: Should there be an option to disable Powermizer?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by tier (Post 1936684)
I'd just want it to keep my nvidia in the low power mode. No need to have higher power consumption and heat production only because I'm scrolling a website.

I have the same problem. I just enable coolbits and underclock.

Gusar 02-20-09 04:31 AM

Re: Should there be an option to disable Powermizer?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by tier (Post 1936684)
I'd just want it to keep my nvidia in the low power mode. No need to have higher power consumption and heat production only because I'm scrolling a website.

To achieve that, I have this in xorg.conf:
Code:

        Option          "RegistryDwords"        "PowerMizerLevelAC=0x3"
        Option          "RegistryDwords"        "PowerMizerLevel=0x3"


TheBlackCat 02-20-09 08:51 AM

Re: Should there be an option to disable Powermizer?
 
@ Gusar: If the registrydwords option worked we wouldn't be having this discussion. But it doesn't work anymore for many people.

RenZ0 02-20-09 04:32 PM

Re: Should there be an option to disable Powermizer?
 
We need this option, even if other settings could do the same.

damentz 02-20-09 06:17 PM

Re: Should there be an option to disable Powermizer?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by kernelOfTruth (Post 1936745)
++

just add 3 options:
- disable
- enable
- auto (old behavior)

enable == auto (just incase you don't know)

But actually, why not use the same terminology as cpufreq?

3 governors:
performance (essentially off, in your case kernelOfTruth)
powersave (lowest clock/memory/voltage, regardless of usage)
ondemand (raise clock/memory/voltage to factory defaults on usage and reduce to lowest under no demand)

nvidia's driver seems to stay at high performance when AC is plugged in or when battery on battery in all cases on my system though - i wonder what's tripping it up.

EDIT: TwinView is breaking powermizer, forcing my gpu to run at full speed all the time.

Xserver 1.4, nvidia 8400m gs: 180.29


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:37 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.