nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   7900GS: PowerMizer: No alternative performance levels (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=128977)

BFraser 02-25-09 09:39 AM

7900GS: PowerMizer: No alternative performance levels
 
I have a MSI NX7900GS-T2D512E-OC.
nvidia-settings works for overclocking and downclocking the card, but
Powermizer has only two performance levels:
0 - 550 / 700 MHz
1 - 550 / 700 MHz
You can guess that's really... useful :(
So it's not possible to downclock on boot (xorg/dwords/powermizer)

All other nvidia cards I own have multiple (and different) power levels.
It that a bug in the card's BIOS ?

Any way to force frequency on boot instead of power levels ? (I guess no)

mlord 02-25-09 10:13 AM

Re: 7900GS: PowerMizer: No alternative performance levels
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BFraser (Post 1941692)
Any way to force frequency on boot instead of power levels ?

Google for NVClock.

kantlivelong 02-25-09 11:35 AM

Re: 7900GS: PowerMizer: No alternative performance levels
 
Heh sorry to hear that. its prolly a powermizer issue..

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=128635

BFraser 02-25-09 04:49 PM

Re: 7900GS: PowerMizer: No alternative performance levels
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by kantlivelong (Post 1941760)
Heh sorry to hear that. its prolly a powermizer issue..

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=128635

Not the same problem.
PowerMiser works for me.
There's just 2 identical performance level. So choosing the lowest level has no effect.

BFraser 02-25-09 04:52 PM

Re: 7900GS: PowerMizer: No alternative performance levels
 
Here's what nvclock replies:

-- VideoBios information --
Version: 05.71.22.42.08
Signon message: GeForce 7900 GT VGA BIOS
Performance level 0: gpu 550MHz/memory 700MHz/1.35V/20%
Performance level 1: gpu 550MHz/memory 700MHz/1.35V/30%
VID mask: 1
Voltage level 0: 1.20V, VID: 1


I'll try to set manually frequencies with nvclock, but it really seems a card bios problem.

quetzyg 05-15-09 02:01 PM

Re: 7900GS: PowerMizer: No alternative performance levels
 
1 Attachment(s)
This problem is similar to mine, so I'll expose it.

I've got a PCI-Express GeForce 7600GS w/ 512MB on my mother's desktop, and the powermizer only has ONE performance level!

http://img268.imageshack.us/img268/1...ettings.th.png

Attached goes the bug report.

Thanks for your time,
Quetzy

jcornwall 05-15-09 03:31 PM

Re: 7900GS: PowerMizer: No alternative performance levels
 
Hmm, the 7900 GS in my Dell XPS M1710 laptop has three performance levels with 185.18.04. 100 / 100, 200 / 300 and 357/507.

It transitions between them correctly. (With a slightly annoying screen flicker but at least it saves the battery.)

Atomic Punk 05-16-09 10:06 AM

Re: 7900GS: PowerMizer: No alternative performance levels
 
I have the same problem with my BFG BFGE98512GTHE. There is only one level defined.

Even if I try to use NVclock to underclock, 2D and 3D clock rates are locked together.

The card just runs at full speed 24/7 and stays nice and warm as a result.

BFG won't help, they only reply "NO BIOS UPDATE, SORRY."

180.60 does not help either, despite saying it fixes a problem of the same description, so I assume it's just a crappy card.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:12 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.