nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Poll: VDPAU, turbocache and *integrated* graphics (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=130001)

Stephen Warren 03-13-09 04:08 PM

Poll: VDPAU, turbocache and *integrated* graphics
 
NOTE: Please read the UPDATE at the end of this post.

This is a question for all users of integrated graphics chips (**NOT** plugin cards) and VDPAU.

I'd like to know:
a) Does your BIOS allow configuration of the amount of "graphics" RAM available to your GPU.
b) If so, which options are available (e.g. possibly 32, 64, 128, 256, ...) If not, do you know how much is statically allocated to the GPU?

Thanks very much.

P.S. I'd like to keep this thread clean and simple for me to read so that I can easily collect and interpret the data. PLEASE no discussion of why/when/... or unrelated issues. Just list the answer to the questions. Thank you! Of course, if people are having trouble working out how to obtain that information from the BIOS, that's fair game to ask questions about.

UPDATE:

Thanks for the responses. I believe I've received enough now. However, if you have an IGP, and you can't set the carveout to at least 128MB, then I'd still be interested in knowing that. Thanks.

conky 03-14-09 12:59 AM

Re: Poll: VDPAU, turbocache and *integrated* graphics
 
I have a Lenovo T61 with a Quadro NVS 140m with 128 MB of dedicated video RAM. The BIOS does not allow configuration of the amount of "graphics" RAM. According to nvidia-settings, 512MB of RAM is allocated to the card. So, 384MB of system RAM.

pcjason 03-14-09 01:35 AM

Re: Poll: VDPAU, turbocache and *integrated* graphics
 
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-M78SM-S2H (NVIDIA 8200 IGP)
Allows configurable VRAM allocation: Yes
Available options: 128MB, 256MB, 512MB (using bios F3H)

-pcjason

califdreas 03-14-09 05:02 AM

Re: Poll: VDPAU, turbocache and *integrated* graphics
 
Mainboard: MSI K9N2GM-FIH
a) yes
b) 32, 64, 128, 256, 512

cscoggin 03-15-09 10:04 PM

Re: Poll: VDPAU, turbocache and *integrated* graphics
 
Dell Precision M6300
Quadro FX1600M

a) No option for changing allocated RAM
b) 256MB

jpterj 03-16-09 06:32 AM

Re: Poll: VDPAU, turbocache and *integrated* graphics
 
Mainboard: Asus M3N78-EM with GeForce 8300
a) Yes
b) 64, 128, 256 with original BIOS, also 512 with updated BIOS.

dirkb 03-16-09 02:40 PM

Re: Poll: VDPAU, turbocache and *integrated* graphics
 
Motherboard: GigaByte GGA-E7AUM-DS2H (Rev. 1.0, using Bios F3A)
Chipset: NVIDIA GeForce 9400
Allows configurable Frame buffer size: Yes
Frame Buffer Control: Auto and Manual
Available options: 64MB, 128MB, 256MB, 512MB

shaundennie 03-16-09 03:12 PM

Re: Poll: VDPAU, turbocache and *integrated* graphics
 
Dell XPS M1330
8400M GS 128M

1) BIOS doesn't allow configuration
2) nvidia-settings reports the card to have 256M so it seems static at 128M.

kconger 03-16-09 03:20 PM

Re: Poll: VDPAU, turbocache and *integrated* graphics
 
Motherboard: MSI K9N2GM-FIH
a) yes
b) 32, 64, 128, 256, 512

rtcm 03-16-09 06:00 PM

Re: Poll: VDPAU, turbocache and *integrated* graphics
 
Dell Latitude D630
NVIDIA GPU Quadro NVS 135M (G86)

a) no BIOS configuration allowed
b) it's advertised as 128M dedicated but the X log says:

(--) NVIDIA(0): Memory: 262144 kBytes

TheBlackCat 03-16-09 09:22 PM

Re: Poll: VDPAU, turbocache and *integrated* graphics
 
Dell Latitude D830
Nvidia Quadro NVS 140M

a) no configuration in bios
b) Video memory is adverstised as 256 MB (of which only half was on-board memory, if I recall correctly) and the bios says the same thing, but the X log says:
(--) NVIDIA(0): Memory: 524288 kBytes

tier 03-17-09 12:55 AM

Re: Poll: VDPAU, turbocache and *integrated* graphics
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by conky (Post 1957462)
I have a Lenovo T61 with a Quadro NVS 140m with 128 MB of dedicated video RAM. The BIOS does not allow configuration of the amount of "graphics" RAM. According to nvidia-settings, 512MB of RAM is allocated to the card. So, 384MB of system RAM.

Same here.

a) No bios setting available
b) nvidia-settings show 512MiB of video memory


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:21 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.