nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Gaming Central (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=12)
-   -   Team Fortress 2 Gets Multi Core Update! (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=130261)

evox 03-18-09 08:32 PM

Team Fortress 2 Gets Multi Core Update!
 
Yes, at last!

Quote:

Updates to Team Fortress 2 have been released. The updates will be applied automatically when your Steam client is restarted. The specific changes include:

Added Multicore Rendering

* This initial release is aimed at testing compatibility, so the option is OFF by default
* To turn it on, go to the Options->Video->Advanced dialog, and check the "Multicore Rendering" option



Other Changes

* Several performance improvements to decals and client bone/flex setup
* A variety of alt-tab and mode switch fixes
* Improvements to the way the engine initializes surround sound, fixing some specific hardware cases
* Fixed a crash on exit in Vista 64

Sazar 03-18-09 10:04 PM

Re: Team Fortress 2 Gets Multi Core Update!
 
OH SNAP :eek:

/me goes to turn it on

Bigbuck 03-18-09 10:08 PM

Re: Team Fortress 2 Gets Multi Core Update!
 
Don't have time to test it now, but they mentioned "a fix for crash under Vista 64". Did this finally fix the hl2.exe has stopped working message upon normally closing the game?

bob saget 03-18-09 10:19 PM

Re: Team Fortress 2 Gets Multi Core Update!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Bigbuck (Post 1961705)
Don't have time to test it now, but they mentioned "a fix for crash under Vista 64". Did this finally fix the hl2.exe has stopped working message upon normally closing the game?

i doubt it, but hoping doesn't hurt :)

bacon12 03-18-09 10:34 PM

Re: Team Fortress 2 Gets Multi Core Update!
 
It didn't stop showing that error for me, but I am so happy they released this. Something we have been asking for many many months now. :)

bob saget 03-18-09 10:38 PM

Re: Team Fortress 2 Gets Multi Core Update!
 
any large performance boost?
I know TF2 is not exactly crysis.....

bacon12 03-18-09 10:47 PM

Re: Team Fortress 2 Gets Multi Core Update!
 
This is a short demo someone took and sent me of someone they thought was cheating. Its on pl_badwater, and there is medium action (7-10 players) on screen most of the time.

i7 920 stock~ 6gb DDR3 1600 ~GTX260 stock

All quality setttings maxed @ 1920x1200

No multi

1793 frames 25.501 seconds 70.31 fps (14.22 ms/f) 10.545 fps variability


With multi enabled.


1793 frames 20.767 seconds 86.34 fps (11.58 ms/f) 15.324 fps variability

So a 16FPS boost in this little time demo, but a higher fps variance. I will do some more testing later, and on my E8400/HD 4870 rig.

ChaoticNick 03-18-09 10:53 PM

Re: Team Fortress 2 Gets Multi Core Update!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Bigbuck (Post 1961705)
Don't have time to test it now, but they mentioned "a fix for crash under Vista 64". Did this finally fix the hl2.exe has stopped working message upon normally closing the game?

Fixed it for me :D

methimpikehoses 03-18-09 10:56 PM

Re: Team Fortress 2 Gets Multi Core Update!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob saget (Post 1961757)
any large performance boost?
I know TF2 is not exactly crysis.....

INORITE?

This game already runs at a million FPS...

AngelGraves13 03-18-09 11:34 PM

Re: Team Fortress 2 Gets Multi Core Update!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ChaoticNick (Post 1961787)
Fixed it for me :D

Fixed it for me too! Yes!

I have multicore enabled by the way.

mullet 03-18-09 11:55 PM

Re: Team Fortress 2 Gets Multi Core Update!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Bigbuck (Post 1961705)
Don't have time to test it now, but they mentioned "a fix for crash under Vista 64". Did this finally fix the hl2.exe has stopped working message upon normally closing the game?

Fixed mine, Finally.

arioch21 03-18-09 11:59 PM

Re: Team Fortress 2 Gets Multi Core Update!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Bigbuck (Post 1961705)
Don't have time to test it now, but they mentioned "a fix for crash under Vista 64". Did this finally fix the hl2.exe has stopped working message upon normally closing the game?

I never had this issue, but everything seems good still with patch.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:34 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.