nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   How to force to 720p ? (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=131098)

jpmur 04-04-09 07:44 AM

How to force to 720p ?
 
Hello,

I have a HTPC under ubuntu and a plasma in 720p resolution. In between, I have an amplifier (sony str-dg820).

So, the resolution my PC take on boot is low, due to the dialog with the amplifier (I suppose).

How to force resolution to 720p on the PC ?

Here is my xorg.conf :
Code:

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier    "Monitor0"
    Option        "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier    "Device0"
    Driver        "nvidia"
    VendorName    "NVIDIA Corporation"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier    "Screen0"
    Device        "Device0"
    Monitor        "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth    24
    SubSection    "Display"
        Depth      24
    EndSubSection
EndSection

Regards

JP

dk75 04-04-09 08:29 AM

Re: How to force to 720p ?
 
No, durring boot is used console driver driver and it's resolution. Usually it's 640x480 ( or 800x600 with really big font ).
You must check if your FrameBuffer module is blacklisted ( in Ubuntu it's usually vesafb, vga16fb, nvidiafb and many more - I'm using vesafb because it's compatibile with everything and don't block nvidia kernel module to load as nvidiafb do ) and if it is then remove it from blacklist ( add "#" at the biginning of it's line ), add it to initramfs autoloaded modules, update initramfs image and add kernel option with desired/available resolution to your bootloader configuration.

jpmur 04-04-09 09:34 AM

Re: How to force to 720p ?
 
Thanks for your reply.

So I added a # on the line blacklist vesafb , but for what I have to do next : sorry I have no idea ! ( linux noob :-| )

So I found elsewhere what it seemed to be done :
Code:

echo vesafb >> /etc/initramfs-tools/modules
modprobe vesafb
depmod -a
update-initramfs -k all -u

Even added
Code:

defoptions=quiet splash vga=871
in grub/menu.lst .

But at reboot, same problem... :-(

So maybe I missed something ?

JP


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:01 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.