nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Using 2 Quadro FX 1700 Cards in Fedora 10 (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=131602)

akitson 04-16-09 12:21 PM

Using 2 Quadro FX 1700 Cards in Fedora 10
 
I've recently installed FC10 on a Dell T5400 Workstation. The machine has 2 x Quadro FX 1700 cards installed. I have 4 monitors to install. I can get a single card (dual port ) working fine using your latest drivers with twin monitors.

As soon as I add the second card (with or without monitors attached), X won't start and bombs with a 'screen not found' error. Take the card out and everything is fine again.

The monitors are all the same (Dell 1700WFP models).

Does anyone have any guidance or maybe an example xorg.conf file I can try. Do I need to do some preconfiguring before starting X the first time?

TIA
Regards
Ashley

AaronP 04-16-09 12:52 PM

Re: Using 2 Quadro FX 1700 Cards in Fedora 10
 
Please see the forum sticky posts about how to report a problem.

akitson 04-17-09 02:31 AM

Re: Using 2 Quadro FX 1700 Cards in Fedora 10
 
1 Attachment(s)
Sorry Aaron, I submitted post from a different machine. Please find attached the bug report logs. 2 are included in the gz file. One for one card with two screens, which works fine. The other for 2 cards with 4 screens, which won't start X.

Regards
Ashley

AaronP 04-17-09 10:14 AM

Re: Using 2 Quadro FX 1700 Cards in Fedora 10
 
You're running into xserver bug #18321. If you want to use a one-GPU configuration with two cards in the sysem, you need to specify a BusID until that bug is fixed. However, it sounds to me like you want to get both cards working, in which case you'll need to specify two device sections with BusIDs. You can do that easily by running `nvidia-xconfig -a`.

steven1350 05-19-09 07:09 PM

Re: Using 2 Quadro FX 1700 Cards in Fedora 10
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by AaronP (Post 1985427)
If you want to use a one-GPU configuration with two cards in the sysem, you need to specify a BusID until that bug is fixed.

How do you do that? I have a system with two 8800gt's in SLi, and I really dont care if only gets used since I dont plan on gaming from within Linux.

Much appreciated,
Steve

AaronP 05-19-09 09:11 PM

Re: Using 2 Quadro FX 1700 Cards in Fedora 10
 
Probably the easiest way would be to just run "nvidia-xconfig -a". The X screens on the GPU with no display devices attached will fail to initialize and the X server should start up with just the remaining screens automatically.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:48 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.