nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Gaming Central (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=12)
-   -   GTA IV ridiculously low FPS (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=132572)

Zhivago 05-06-09 11:11 PM

GTA IV ridiculously low FPS
 
I have a fairly powerful system with a quad core Phenom II 3.2 Ghz, am ATI 4890, and 4 GB ram.

However, for some reason GTA IV is absolutely crawling at around 2-20 FPS (literally!) and even I find that I get no improvement when I lower graphical settings all the way down to 640x480. It used to run great when I had a 4870 512MB card..

All I can think of is that the additional 512 MB of VRAM on this card is hurting me, since I only have 32 bit windows. Does this sound like a possiblity? Anyone in here running it fine with <= 3 GB ram?

EDIT: drivers are the same.. heck, I didn't even touch them, I just swapped in the new card.

mailman2 05-06-09 11:37 PM

Re: GTA IV ridiculously low FPS
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Zhivago (Post 1999707)
I have a fairly powerful system with a quad core Phenom II 3.2 Ghz, am ATI 4890, and 4 GB ram.

However, for some reason GTA IV is absolutely crawling at around 2-20 FPS (literally!) and even I find that I get no improvement when I lower graphical settings all the way down to 640x480. It used to run great when I had a 4870 512MB card..

All I can think of is that the additional 512 MB of VRAM on this card is hurting me, since I only have 32 bit windows. Does this sound like a possiblity? Anyone in here running it fine with <= 3 GB ram?

EDIT: drivers are the same.. heck, I didn't even touch them, I just swapped in the new card.

Start with reinstalling the drivers. This is the first no-no with ATI. Never change cards without uninstall / reinstalling their drivers.

You may want to move to x64 because you are losing alot of system ram now with x86 OS. You are only likely to be addressing about 2.8Gb of your ram now with a 1GB GPU. When I went to the GTX 280 I stopped using x86 OS for the same reason.

I think the driver reinstall will sort things though.

Blade 05-07-09 01:05 AM

Re: GTA IV ridiculously low FPS
 
Meh, ati .....nuff said.

dikinher 05-07-09 01:15 AM

Re: GTA IV ridiculously low FPS
 
The last time I owned an ATI card was when the X1900xtx release, since then I've been buying Nvidia. I hate ATi's drivers and control panel that has all of these little programs taking up resources.

skank 05-07-09 03:26 AM

Re: GTA IV ridiculously low FPS
 
Have you tried disabling video capture?

Oh hang on, are you wearing cotton pants (I'm English so you know what pants I mean)? I hear that can cause it too. It's just as likely as it being your GPU manufacturer.

Edit: I just noticed you stated it was working fine on your 4870, in which case you probably had video capture off already. In that case I would go with the driver reinstall.

jai sayan 06-08-09 01:52 PM

Re: GTA IV ridiculously low FPS
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mailman2 (Post 1999710)
Start with reinstalling the drivers. This is the first no-no with ATI. Never change cards without uninstall / reinstalling their drivers.

You may want to move to x64 because you are losing alot of system ram now with x86 OS. You are only likely to be addressing about 2.8Gb of your ram now with a 1GB GPU. When I went to the GTX 280 I stopped using x86 OS for the same reason.

I think the driver reinstall will sort things though.

x86 isnt a problem, you can activate PAE in your Vista/XP x86 to address more than 4GB of memory.

Anyways, Zhivago did you find any solution to this problem, cause you aren't alone facing this problem.

I am also suffering the same with my nvidia.

I Played crysis warhead with 2xAA,1280x1024 ultra high settings @ 25-40 fps. Crytek rocks!!

I am disappointed with Rockstar this time, they arent paying attention to PC. And if this continues, I am not going to buy any rockstar game in future.

XDanger 06-08-09 02:24 PM

Re: GTA IV ridiculously low FPS
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by jai sayan (Post 2025291)
x86 isnt a problem, you can activate PAE in your Vista/XP x86 to address more than 4GB of memory.

NO

mailman2 06-08-09 03:00 PM

Re: GTA IV ridiculously low FPS
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by jai sayan (Post 2025291)
x86 isnt a problem, you can activate PAE in your Vista/XP x86 to address more than 4GB of memory.

Yea, thats just wrong information there. If you have a GPU with more than 512MB ram and want to use 4GB ram or more you need x64 OS.

NarcissistZero 06-08-09 04:06 PM

Re: GTA IV ridiculously low FPS
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by jai sayan (Post 2025291)
I Played crysis warhead with 2xAA,1280x1024 ultra high settings @ 25-40 fps. Crytek rocks!!

I am disappointed with Rockstar this time, they arent paying attention to PC. And if this continues, I am not going to buy any rockstar game in future.

Crysis and GTA4 are doing very different things with your hardware.

jeffmd 06-08-09 04:51 PM

Re: GTA IV ridiculously low FPS
 
Yea, crysis is using a fairly advanced vegitation system that LODs trees and plants to multiple degrees of detail, and it is also using some fairly advanced shaders and textures on everything. Alot of its LOD magic dosnt work as much on buildings, atleast not demonstrated yet. GTA4's engine centers much less on vegitation and more on building and streets details. Buildings have a ton of textures that can be toggled and many geometry details that can be faded in and out to gain performance. It also uses a pretty heafty shadow rendering system so that even distanced objects get shadows (although it does start to dissapear when you fly/gain high Z axis).

nekrosoft13 06-08-09 05:47 PM

Re: GTA IV ridiculously low FPS
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by jeffmd (Post 2025414)
Yea, crysis is using a fairly advanced vegitation system that LODs trees and plants to multiple degrees of detail, and it is also using some fairly advanced shaders and textures on everything. Alot of its LOD magic dosnt work as much on buildings, atleast not demonstrated yet. GTA4's engine centers much less on vegitation and more on building and streets details. Buildings have a ton of textures that can be toggled and many geometry details that can be faded in and out to gain performance. It also uses a pretty heafty shadow rendering system so that even distanced objects get shadows (although it does start to dissapear when you fly/gain high Z axis).

you are missing one very important factor, CPU. GTA4 is CPU limited, Crysis is GPU limited.

jeffmd 06-08-09 09:08 PM

Re: GTA IV ridiculously low FPS
 
mm...id say gta4 is gpu limited..like pretty much every other game out there. ^^ It does have a sort of steep quad core requirement due to nativly being on a 3 core, but other then that I dont think its "limited" in that you can slap it with a bigger cpu and get more performance out of it.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:59 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.