nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   How to execute a script when performance level changes? (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=132784)

JaXXoN 05-11-09 06:57 AM

How to execute a script when performance level changes?
 
Can the nvidia driver be configured to call a user definable script when
it changes the performance level?


Background:

For noise reduction, i purchased a case with a huge fan
http://txetxusoft.es/tienda/images/Sagitta-II_2.jpg

Unfortunately, it seems that this fan is doing it's job way
"too good". Means: the card stays cool on the outside
so that the GPU fan doesn't ramp up. As a consequence,
the GPU gets so hot in the inside so that after a while of 3D
operation, the DVI outputs shut down (black screen). When then
switching to a text console and waiting for a while then the card
typically cools down and the output recovers.

When removing the big fan, then the GPU fan ramps up, providing
enough cooling, but then there is pretty much no noise reduction.

So my idea now is to program a fixed 35% PWM duty cycle
(with nvclock) when the system is in "Desktop Mode" and 100%
when in 3D Mode (since I'm using a head-set, the noise is less of
a problem while gaming) .

I guess the switch could be somehow detected by polling
GPUCurrentPerfLevel with nvidia-settings and setting the fan
speed accordingly. However, there are two issues: first polling
is not a nice mechanism. It would be better if the driver calls
a user-definable script whenever configurable states change.

The other problem for me is that GPUCurrentPerfLevel is always "2"
(highest) for me, no matter if there are any 3D applications running or not.

Any feedback is highly appreciated!

regards

Bernhard

castor 05-11-09 01:51 PM

Re: How to execute a script when performance level changes?
 
Wouldn't it be enough to script a "launcher" for the game? So that switching between 35/100% modes is done when the game starts/exits.

JaXXoN 05-11-09 06:28 PM

Re: How to execute a script when performance level changes?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by castor (Post 2003015)
Wouldn't it be enough to script a "launcher" for the game?

Thanks for the feedback!

I was certainly thinking about this solution, too, but first of all, i would need to modify
all game launchers scripts and second, if you start two 3D applications and then
stopping one will reduce the fan speed while the other application is still running.
(means, fan speed and performance level would be inconsistent). I guess it would
be possible by some kind of persistent counter ( dc=(cnt!=0?) 100:35; ), but this just
make things even more complicate ...

So I think it would be by far more elegant if there would be some sort of
callback scripts for performance level changes.

regards

Bernhard


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:46 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.