nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   does flash player hardware mode work? (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=132945)

ir123 05-14-09 03:36 PM

does flash player hardware mode work?
 
There's some claims out there about flash player using hardware mode for smooth playback in youtube, etc, but I doubt it's working for me. Is this supposed to work somehow? I heard about the /etc/adobe/mms.cfg file, putting OverrideGPUValidation=true in it, but I see no difference. Is this hardware setting for flash supposed to work for nvidia?

kriko 05-14-09 03:43 PM

Re: does flash player hardware mode work?
 
How do you know it doesn't work?
Anyway, if you judge by cpu usage then you are doing it wrong. Flash is simply a huge bloatware and it uses a lot of cpu nevertheless if you are playing HD or low-quality videos.

ir123 05-14-09 04:06 PM

Re: does flash player hardware mode work?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by kriko (Post 2005641)
How do you know it doesn't work?
Anyway, if you judge by cpu usage then you are doing it wrong. Flash is simply a huge bloatware and it uses a lot of cpu nevertheless if you are playing HD or low-quality videos.

I was judging it on whether I could play HD video on youtube smoothly, which I can't. Guess I need a 3GHz quad core or higher and the hardware mode is actually useless.

jcornwall 05-15-09 01:28 AM

Re: does flash player hardware mode work?
 
You can tell whether hardware acceleration is enabled by seeing if the CPU load is mostly on the Firefox or Xorg process.

Flash won't use hardware acceleration if a compositing window manager is active. Even after killing it, I'm fairly sure the newest 64-bit Flash alpha doesn't use acceleration on my 7900 GS or GTX 260.

Dragoran 05-15-09 07:00 AM

Re: does flash player hardware mode work?
 
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show...88#post1933488

kriko 05-15-09 08:13 AM

Re: does flash player hardware mode work?
 
What if you use kde4 desktop effects? Will it disable acceleration too?

Dragoran 05-15-09 08:18 AM

Re: does flash player hardware mode work?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by kriko (Post 2006203)
What if you use kde4 desktop effects? Will it disable acceleration too?

no

TheBlackCat 05-15-09 09:19 AM

Re: does flash player hardware mode work?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Dragoran (Post 2006208)
no

Why not? KDE 4 uses a compositing desktop manager when desktop effects are enabled.

Dragoran 05-15-09 09:42 AM

Re: does flash player hardware mode work?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by TheBlackCat (Post 2006238)
Why not? KDE 4 uses a compositing desktop manager when desktop effects are enabled.

Because flash just checks if the wm name is "compiz" or not.

ir123 05-15-09 02:54 PM

Re: does flash player hardware mode work?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by jcornwall (Post 2006064)
You can tell whether hardware acceleration is enabled by seeing if the CPU load is mostly on the Firefox or Xorg process.

So which is which? I'm seeing the load on firefox not xorg.

Quote:

Flash won't use hardware acceleration if a compositing window manager is active. Even after killing it, I'm fairly sure the newest 64-bit Flash alpha doesn't use acceleration on my 7900 GS or GTX 260.
Do you mean composite must be disabled such as this in xorg.conf?

Section "Extensions"
Option "Composite" "Disable"
EndSection

I'm not seeing a difference either way and with that composite does look disabled because no composite stuff works.

edit: well, ok, I am seeing maybe a small difference, although it could just as well be my imagination. if this is the hardware enabled flash benefit it's not too good. HD still not smooth and 69% cpu.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:20 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.