nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=60)
-   -   DXDiag incorrect memory? (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=133037)

XxDeadlyxX 05-17-09 03:58 AM

DXDiag incorrect memory?
 
In DXDiag, it is showing my GTX 280s to have Approx Total Memory of only 494MB, not 1024MB. I'm using 185.85. Not sure when it started doing this, but I last checked probably a month ago and it showed the correct amount.

Anyone else getting this? Does it affect what Windows can use for VRAM?

hemmy 05-17-09 04:35 PM

Re: DXDiag incorrect memory?
 
My 1 GTX 260 lists 2670MB, in Windows 7, same driver

Has no impact I think.

ikjadoon 05-20-09 08:36 PM

Re: DXDiag incorrect memory?
 
Check with some other tools, like GPU-Z. If it happens there, too, maybe some RAM went defective, I don't know.

Otherwise, it's probably just a Windows bug. A weird one, though.

~Ibrahim~

jcrox 05-20-09 10:12 PM

Re: DXDiag incorrect memory?
 
I'm thinking it's a bug with the 185.85 drivers amybe? I'm showing 2671 MB

I wouldn't worry about it though

ikjadoon 05-20-09 11:16 PM

Re: DXDiag incorrect memory?
 
And my GTS 640MB shows 2408MB! That's not the issue: Vista inherently globs physical GPU memory with other memory, showing that number.

I've never seen lower, though.

~Ibrahim~

P.S. Or did everyone here also have different numbers before?

nekrosoft13 05-20-09 11:36 PM

Re: DXDiag incorrect memory?
 
my gtx 280 shows 3819mb of memory

Dr.Nick 05-21-09 12:33 AM

Re: DXDiag incorrect memory?
 
Dxdiag shows 384mb available for mine but nvcp shows 4478. I'll try reinstalling drivers but I've never seen this tbh

Bman212121 05-21-09 12:58 AM

Re: DXDiag incorrect memory?
 
I'm using the 185.81 drivers and I'm seeing 231MB in dxdiag for my 8800GTX.

I haven't done anything intensive to really tell if it is hindering the card, but I'm guessing it's a cosmetic error.

ikjadoon 05-22-09 04:37 PM

Re: DXDiag incorrect memory?
 
Might be a 185.8x bug, then? Because I'm using 182.50 with 2408MB of GPU RAM.

I think people might be confusing the RAM thing. If it is more than your card has, then it normal because of Vista. But if it is less, it seems to be a NV bug.

~Ibrahim~

Llamalama 05-23-09 03:02 AM

Re: DXDiag incorrect memory?
 
Hope it's a bug. Mine says 494MB. Weird.

FredMihir 05-23-09 04:57 AM

Re: DXDiag incorrect memory?
 
ya its work and useful me...tnxhttp://www.esharez.info/imgs/signature_deepthakur.jpg:)

ikjadoon 05-23-09 01:15 PM

Re: DXDiag incorrect memory?
 
Hmm. My GTS 640MB still shows 2408MB in DxDiag with 185.85....might be 185.8x bug with the 200 series.

~Ibrahim~


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:23 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.