nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Gaming Central (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=12)
-   -   Cure for aliasing in GTA IV? (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=133114)

Noriega 05-19-09 05:52 AM

Cure for aliasing in GTA IV?
 
http://www.pcgameshardware.com/aid,6...sampling/News/

It looks very good but I bet that performance is rather an dancing banana (nana2)

http://www.oc-burner.de/ftp/Pictures...___720p___.jpg

Toss3 05-19-09 06:07 AM

Re: Cure for aliasing in GTA IV?
 
Think it won't affect performance that much, at least if you have a card capable of running 2560x1600 without issues. Gonna suck for me though.. :o

Now bring on the GTA IV tweaks so I can play it again! :captnkill:

JasonPC 05-19-09 12:37 PM

Re: Cure for aliasing in GTA IV?
 
Sounds like you'll need a lot of VRAM to accomplish this.

ViN86 05-19-09 01:29 PM

Re: Cure for aliasing in GTA IV?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Noriega (Post 2010768)
http://www.pcgameshardware.com/aid,6...sampling/News/

It looks very good but I bet that performance is rather an dancing banana (nana2)

http://www.oc-burner.de/ftp/Pictures...___720p___.jpg

Holy **** that looks good.

Q 05-19-09 01:37 PM

Re: Cure for aliasing in GTA IV?
 
WOW.

Hell, I'll even give it a SHAM WOW.


Edit: Isn't this how the Voodoo 4/5 did AA? I still miss the AA quality on that card.

Noriega 05-19-09 02:04 PM

Re: Cure for aliasing in GTA IV?
 
Here you have instructions.

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=133113

Toss3 05-19-09 02:07 PM

Re: Cure for aliasing in GTA IV?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JasonPC (Post 2011007)
Sounds like you'll need a lot of VRAM to accomplish this.

Another reason to get a GT300 when it launches! (nana2)

How's the performance hit - anyone try this yet?

JasonPC 05-19-09 02:16 PM

Re: Cure for aliasing in GTA IV?
 
Yeah I'm planning on getting GT300 after holding onto my 8800s for so long.

Noriega 05-19-09 03:26 PM

Re: Cure for aliasing in GTA IV?
 
Any one got it working? I got XP and it doesn't want to run ;/

Uberpwnage 05-19-09 07:34 PM

Re: Cure for aliasing in GTA IV?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Toss3 (Post 2010773)
Think it won't affect performance that much, at least if you have a card capable of running 2560x1600 without issues. Gonna suck for me though.. :o

Now bring on the GTA IV tweaks so I can play it again! :captnkill:

Still a 50% increase in pixels from 2560x1600 to 2988x2100. If you wanted similar quality at a native resolution of 1920x1200, going by the same conventions, it would be downsampled from 3840x2400, so it would get out of hand pretty quickly.

Interesting concept, but not really practical at the resolutions we're used to these days.

Destroy 05-19-09 09:08 PM

Re: Cure for aliasing in GTA IV?
 
Wow, GTA4 runs like crap to begin with and now just to simulate FSAA we're suppose to render in an unGodly resolution? Ack!!! :(

agentkay 05-19-09 10:05 PM

Re: Cure for aliasing in GTA IV?
 
I managed to get it working in Vista64, but so far I managed to find only one "proper" resolution, 2880x1620@50hz (native is 1920x1080@60hz), so basically 1.5xSSAA

I tried it out in Lost Planet and yes it works and yes the performance hit is definitely there. Average fps were around 15-25, but it was quite smoother (30-40fps) actually at 1080p with 16xQ and with comparable image quality.

So yes its nice to have that addional option, IF the game doesnt have AA, IF SSAA doesn't work through Nhancer, and IF you have the necessary hardware that can deliver decent framerame. In such case it does beat jaggies any time and I'm glad these guys over at 3Dcenter found that solution/hack.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:38 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.