nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Gaming Central (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=12)
-   -   Star Wars: Republic Commando Crashes (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=134777)

Altair13 06-21-09 04:05 PM

Star Wars: Republic Commando Crashes
 
Republic Commando was the best damn Star Wars game LucasArts ever decided to make but has many horrible bugs... I used to be one of the best at Republic Commando when I had my GeForce 5200(horrible) which used to be top of the line around 2003. I stopped playing for awhile and got interested in Crysis and I installed my new Visiontek(bad company) HD 3850. I was happy for a few months and decided to play RC again.

But when I started the game it kept on crashing. I clicked customize on the Multiplayer menu and it crashed. When I set bumpmapping to low, everything started working again but left a deep dent on my former RC glory. The graphics were so distracting that I got owned::headexplode:. The arms are in a very weird position and I was very used to maxing it out. Is there a solution to my crashes without changing any of the graphics??? Thanks for reading.

Nitz Walsh 06-21-09 09:16 PM

Re: Star Wars: Republic Commando Crashes
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Altair13 (Post 2033650)
Republic Commando was the best damn Star Wars game LucasArts ever decided to make but has many horrible bugs... I used to be one of the best at Republic Commando when I had my GeForce 5200(horrible) which used to be top of the line around 2003. I stopped playing for awhile and got interested in Crysis and I installed my new Visiontek(bad company) HD 3850. I was happy for a few months and decided to play RC again.

But when I started the game it kept on crashing. I clicked customize on the Multiplayer menu and it crashed. When I set bumpmapping to low, everything started working again but left a deep dent on my former RC glory. The graphics were so distracting that I got owned::headexplode:. The arms are in a very weird position and I was very used to maxing it out. Is there a solution to my crashes without changing any of the graphics??? Thanks for reading.

I've probably played through the campaign 3 times, on varying hardware. Doesn't help you, but I've never had it crash once.

SH64 06-21-09 09:41 PM

Re: Star Wars: Republic Commando Crashes
 
I did have a good number of crashes with this game back in the day.

K-1 06-21-09 10:42 PM

Re: Star Wars: Republic Commando Crashes
 
Republic Commando used some proprietary tech in order to get bump-mapping to work on the Unreal 2 Engine. This tech was based around getting it to work on the hardware that was out at the time, and because it was designed so specifically it doesn't work properly with current hardware. Not much you can do but use an older graphic card, when I last replayed the game I threw my 7950GT back in in order to play the game right.

NarcissistZero 06-21-09 11:09 PM

Re: Star Wars: Republic Commando Crashes
 
I played this on Xbox back in the day... great game.

I got it for PC much later in the Star Wars best of collection... ran fine for me, but I only played a couple levels.

K007 06-22-09 04:46 AM

Re: Star Wars: Republic Commando Crashes
 
this was such an awesome game i really enjoyed it on the pc

AdamK47 06-22-09 01:18 PM

Re: Star Wars: Republic Commando Crashes
 
Too bad nVidia helped mess this game up by implementing now obsolete hardware calls.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:08 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.