nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Gaming Central (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=12)
-   -   Games that require a GTX295 to run at 1920x1200 4xAA (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=134845)

Armed_Baboon 06-23-09 01:37 AM

Games that require a GTX295 to run at 1920x1200 4xAA
 
Guys, I am planning on buying a GTX295 in about 2 weeks time. The POV and MSI cards are really cheap at the moment, at $650AU.

What games do you think would require a GTX295 to get an acceptable 40-60fps at 1920x1200 and at least 4xAA?

So far I can think of:

Crysis / Warhead
Stalker Clear Sky
Arma2
Dirt/Dirt2

what else needs such power?

wysiwyg 06-23-09 05:32 AM

Re: Games that require a GTX295 to run at 1920x1200 4xAA
 
i found the GTX295 needed an i7 to get the best out of it aswell

GTA IV needs a 295 to run at max details at 1920x1200

nekrosoft13 06-23-09 11:58 AM

Re: Games that require a GTX295 to run at 1920x1200 4xAA
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by wysiwyg (Post 2034576)
GTA IV needs a 295 to run at max details at 1920x1200

no it doesn't, 295 actually will hurt GTA 4. GTA 4 needs massive ammount of video memory something that 295 lacks. 295 might be advertised as 1792MB card. But it uses SLI technology meaning that each GPU only has 896MB of Video Memory to work with.

The 2GB GTX 285 (Single GPU) or 1792MB GTX 275 (Single GPU) is much better card for GTA 4

wysiwyg 06-23-09 12:02 PM

Re: Games that require a GTX295 to run at 1920x1200 4xAA
 
ok my bad

has ran great at that setting still

Vanzagar 06-23-09 12:59 PM

Re: Games that require a GTX295 to run at 1920x1200 4xAA
 
FSX

|MaguS| 06-23-09 01:03 PM

Re: Games that require a GTX295 to run at 1920x1200 4xAA
 
No game requires a GTX295 for the given settings...

Xion X2 06-23-09 01:23 PM

Re: Games that require a GTX295 to run at 1920x1200 4xAA
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 (Post 2034773)
no it doesn't, 295 actually will hurt GTA 4. GTA 4 needs massive ammount of video memory something that 295 lacks. 295 might be advertised as 1792MB card. But it uses SLI technology meaning that each GPU only has 896MB of Video Memory to work with.

The 2GB GTX 285 (Single GPU) or 1792MB GTX 275 (Single GPU) is much better card for GTA 4

Can't believe I'm agreeing w/ nekro lately, but he's right.

The 896MB of VRAM is definitely something to think about w/ the 295, but I see that you're on a P35 and don't have a lot of options available to you (standard SLI w/ more than 896MB of VRAM per GPU would be optimal.)

And a single 295 isn't enough to run Crysis w/ 4xAA unless you turn a lot of the settings down. Hell, 2 isn't. There isn't a card or set of cards on the market strong enough to run Crysis w/ 4xAA and maxed settings. Some of that is probably due to the advanced graphics and some due to shoddy coding, because I think both Clear Sky and Ghostbusters look better (some may disagree w/ that, but I do) and both run better at maxed/near max settings.

saturnotaku 06-23-09 01:35 PM

Re: Games that require a GTX295 to run at 1920x1200 4xAA
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Xion X2 (Post 2034886)
Can't believe I'm agreeing w/ nekro lately, but he's right.

The 896MB of VRAM is definitely something to think about w/ the 295, but I see that you're on a P35 and don't have a lot of options available to you (standard SLI w/ more than 896MB of VRAM per GPU would be optimal.)

The P35 and two-core CPU will put a bit of a choke hold on a 295 as well. Crysis needs a fair amount of tweaking to get it consistently above 30 fps at 1920x1200 with even 2x AA on a Core i7.

A better investment of the OP's money would be going to a quad-core CPU and then investing in either a 2 GB GTX 285 or 1792 MB GTX 275.

Xion X2 06-23-09 02:05 PM

Re: Games that require a GTX295 to run at 1920x1200 4xAA
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by saturnotaku (Post 2034905)
The P35 and two-core CPU will put a bit of a choke hold on a 295 as well. Crysis needs a fair amount of tweaking to get it consistently above 30 fps at 1920x1200 with even 2x AA on a Core i7.

A better investment of the OP's money would be going to a quad-core CPU and then investing in either a 2 GB GTX 285 or 1792 MB GTX 275.

Yeah, I didn't think about the bandwidth issue. Did the P35 lack PCI-E 2.0?

Pending that, I completely agree with everything you said.

saturnotaku 06-23-09 02:09 PM

Re: Games that require a GTX295 to run at 1920x1200 4xAA
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Xion X2 (Post 2034944)
Yeah, I didn't think about the bandwidth issue. Did the P35 lack PCI-E 2.0?

Pending that, I completely agree with everything you said.

P35 is not PCI-E 2.0.

SilentMercury 06-23-09 02:29 PM

Re: Games that require a GTX295 to run at 1920x1200 4xAA
 
I finally decided to upgrade a pair of 88oo gtx cards I've had for a while and got 2 275 gtx sc cards and I must say I am not very impressed. After reading this post, I feel I should have gotten the 1792mb instead of 896mb. While Crysis and Clear Sky have improved two fold, GTA 4 has not, and that was the main game I wanted to improve performance on.

Also, after installing the new cards I noticed right away that the overall video quality was a lot better on the 88oogtx's. I find myself tinkering with the contrast, gamma, etc. and I still cant get images to look as full and crisp as the old cards. I am stumped at this one to be honest and very disappointed. Finally, I have to bitch about flashing shadows and lights in GTA4 with these cards. That is annoying.

I am curious, If I picked up a third card, a 1792mb version, would the tri-sli utilize 1792mb of video memory or 896 mb, like the other cards?

saturnotaku 06-23-09 02:39 PM

Re: Games that require a GTX295 to run at 1920x1200 4xAA
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by SilentMercury (Post 2034981)
I am curious, If I picked up a third card, a 1792mb version, would the tri-sli utilize 1792mb of video memory or 896 mb, like the other cards?

SLI is only as strong as the weakest link in the chain. You would still be limited to an 896 MB frame buffer. Two 896 MB cards in SLI only have that much memory to work with, as nekro explained in the earlier post in this thread.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:28 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.