nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Gaming Central (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=12)
-   -   GTA IV Revoke (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=135676)

XDanger 07-12-09 06:42 PM

GTA IV Revoke
 
My HDD bit the dust
I know I should have revoked my install before but I just couldn't stop playing, I have an image backup of my Vista but not enough space to put it.

Will I be able to install GTAIV again and just use up one install credit or will it tell me to **** off?

Ive got a 24 gb of unallocated space on my XP drive, Will that be enough for a 7 install until I buy some new drive space?

I don't want to install GTAIV on XP as its 32bit and I only get 2.93gb.

|MaguS| 07-12-09 07:57 PM

Re: GTA IV Revoke
 
It will tell you to **** off because you made fun of that girl that one time.

mailman2 07-12-09 09:03 PM

Re: GTA IV Revoke
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by XDanger (Post 2045974)
My HDD bit the dust
I know I should have revoked my install before but I just couldn't stop playing, I have an image backup of my Vista but not enough space to put it.

Will I be able to install GTAIV again and just use up one install credit or will it tell me to **** off?

Ive got a 24 gb of unallocated space on my XP drive, Will that be enough for a 7 install until I buy some new drive space?

I don't want to install GTAIV on XP as its 32bit and I only get 2.93gb.

You have 4 more installs left just remember to revoke them in the future.

hemmy 07-12-09 09:52 PM

Re: GTA IV Revoke
 
If you don't revoke then installing it makes you loose one of your installs (the number you get depends on the game)

mailman2 07-12-09 10:30 PM

Re: GTA IV Revoke
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by abtomat74 (Post 2046050)
What exactly does revoke mean in regards to DRM?

The only time I encountered this was recently when I finally uninstalled Far Cry 2 and it asked if I wanted to revoke.

Does revoking mean that you do not lose one of your limited installs?

Yes, you get 5 activations but can run the revoke tool or uninstall and it will ask at the end of the uninstall. You then get it back. If you suffer hardware failure or just forget and wipe and reinstall you lose it. 4 left.

XDanger 07-13-09 12:14 AM

Re: GTA IV Revoke
 
I guess I could create a partition for the vista image just to revoke GTAIV but it seems like a lot of hassle and I might mess it up

using 7100 now.

NarcissistZero 07-13-09 12:18 AM

Re: GTA IV Revoke
 
I thought GTA4 used Securom but did not limit activations? I guess I was wrong...

All I remember it doing was authenticating through GFWLive, which you can sign into on any PC.

mailman2 07-13-09 12:32 AM

Re: GTA IV Revoke
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by NarcissistZero (Post 2046113)
I thought GTA4 used Securom but did not limit activations? I guess I was wrong...

All I remember it doing was authenticating through GFWLive, which you can sign into on any PC.

I have both a D2D copy and retail box, both use the online activation - but at least the game comes with a revoke tool. Unlike CoR Assault on Dark athena. GTA IV shipped with tight DRM but at least it was done right with a revoke tool outta the box.

mailman2 07-13-09 12:34 AM

Re: GTA IV Revoke
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by XDanger (Post 2046107)
I guess I could create a partition for the vista image just to revoke GTAIV but it seems like a lot of hassle and I might mess it up

using 7100 now.

You can right click the GTA IV icon right from the Games window and revoke the key without uninstalling the game. Its simple really.

Sadly the last few times I installed GTA IV I didnt bother activating it. I just installed it, patched it and used the crack. DRM really sucks. Half the games I buy I end up cracking to avoid screwing up and losing activations.

XDanger 07-13-09 12:40 AM

Re: GTA IV Revoke
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mailman2 (Post 2046118)
You can right click the GTA IV icon right from the Games window and revoke the key without uninstalling the game. Its simple really.

The game is installed using Vista but sits on a different drive, The vista drive is dead but I have an Image of it.

I would have to plant that image somewhere to see the games explorer.

NarcissistZero 07-13-09 01:33 AM

Re: GTA IV Revoke
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mailman2 (Post 2046117)
I have both a D2D copy and retail box, both use the online activation - but at least the game comes with a revoke tool. Unlike CoR Assault on Dark athena. GTA IV shipped with tight DRM but at least it was done right with a revoke tool outta the box.

I just read up on it and the Steam version does not use activations, and that is the version I got.

mailman2 07-13-09 08:25 AM

Re: GTA IV Revoke
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by NarcissistZero (Post 2046149)
I just read up on it and the Steam version does not use activations, and that is the version I got.

Sometimes Steam pisses me off. I have Crysis Warhead and that had 5 unrevokable installations. They put out a tool for it, but by the time they did I was out of activations and it wouldnt work with the last one I had. Far Cry 2 on Steam also had 5 limited installs.

I really wish nothing would have 3rd party through Steam - I'd be much happier. The Stalker debacle really put me off as I was outta keys within hours of buying it and being sent back and forth trying to get them to reset it. Apparently no one could - Steam finally just refunded me the money from it.

I ended up selling my Mirrors Edge retail and buying it through Steam since it had no 3rd party DRM. I still cant play Far Cry 2 or Warhead through Steam. Waiting for them to remove the DRM entirely.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:11 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.