nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=60)
-   -   5.25" Psu To Power System + Gtx260? (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=136039)

chris89 07-19-09 12:18 AM

5.25" Psu To Power System + Gtx260?
 
I'm looking for a 5.25" PSU that could power my system including a GTX260. I want to run the 5.25 PSU only for room reasons. My case limits the cooling abilities of my processor since the atx psu hangs over the cpu. It won't allow me to put a large HSF to cool my quad.

thanks

Bman212121 07-19-09 12:57 AM

Re: 5.25" Psu To Power System + Gtx260?
 
Unfortunately there is no such thing. You could try to relocate your current PSU into the bay area on it's side, but you'd probably be just as far ahead to get a different case.

The build quality on the few 5 1/4" PSUs that are on the market isn't all that great, and they simply cannot power very much. Some of them might not even handle a GTX 260.

chris89 07-19-09 02:48 AM

Re: 5.25" Psu To Power System + Gtx260?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Bman212121 (Post 2050006)
Unfortunately there is no such thing. You could try to relocate your current PSU into the bay area on it's side, but you'd probably be just as far ahead to get a different case.

The build quality on the few 5 1/4" PSUs that are on the market isn't all that great, and they simply cannot power very much. Some of them might not even handle a GTX 260.

Do you have of any Microatx power supplies that are 5 1/4" that have at least 38 amps of the 12V line? I've been looking at this power supply. It has 4 12V Lines @ 8.5A = 32Amps and it's 550W microatx psu but i believe it looks as though it maintains standard ATX width, which is an issue. Otherwise i believe it could power my system including the GTX260...

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817338037

This is looks very good. Only 350W but with Dual 12V Lines @ 18A = 36Amps I believe it wouldn't have a problem powering the GTX260. It's also a Standard typical MicroATX dimension PSU.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817151063

CaptNKILL 07-19-09 03:41 AM

Re: 5.25" Psu To Power System + Gtx260?
 
If I were you I'd just get a case where the PSU is in a normal location.

A crappy PSU isn't going to be any better for your system than a lack of air flow.

There are plenty of small cases with layouts that make sense for good systems like yours. The little cubes are "neat" but terrible for most uses.

Bman212121 07-19-09 07:08 PM

Re: 5.25" Psu To Power System + Gtx260?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by chris89 (Post 2050043)
Do you have of any Microatx power supplies that are 5 1/4" that have at least 38 amps of the 12V line? I've been looking at this power supply. It has 4 12V Lines @ 8.5A = 32Amps and it's 550W microatx psu but i believe it looks as though it maintains standard ATX width, which is an issue. Otherwise i believe it could power my system including the GTX260...

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817338037

This is looks very good. Only 350W but with Dual 12V Lines @ 18A = 36Amps I believe it wouldn't have a problem powering the GTX260. It's also a Standard typical MicroATX dimension PSU.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817151063

That 550W PSU might be a decent one. I don't have any microATX PSUs though. That 350W PSU isn't going to cut it for a quad core and a GTX 260. I'd say that 550W is about as small as you'd want to go with that configuration, maybe a 500W from a name brand.

EDIT: I'm not sure what's up the the 12V rail configuration. I'd be concerned about having enough power on each rail for a device. 1 rail is going to be just CPU, and that puts it at ~100W for the cpu. I'm not so sure a quad core is going to work properly on such a small rail. You'd also have 2 rails dedicated for the GPU, and the last rail would be the other devices. I probably wouldn't recommend that supply for your configuration either.

john19055 07-19-09 08:36 PM

Re: 5.25" Psu To Power System + Gtx260?
 
I don't know about the whole system,but Thermaltake makes a 450w 12v VGA power supply ,that has 4 PCIe slots,two 6pin and two 8pin.and it is the size of a DVD player and I powered two GTX 280's in SLI with it at thier default speed for serval months.But I was pushing that power supply to the max because I could'nt overclock them with out it tripping.Got tired of messing with two power supplies and got a Cooler Master UCP 1100watt when I got my new case and third GTX 280.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:24 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.