nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Home Theater A/V (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=54)
-   -   RF-Link GS3200 Wireless PC To PC (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=136898)

seeker 08-04-09 07:41 PM

RF-Link GS3200 Wireless PC To PC
 
I've just sent an email to the vender that I bought this system from, but there's no telling how long it will take them to respond, nor how helpful that they may be, so I'm posting my question here.

I tried installing this system, which connects via RCA connectors, to the video card (EVGA 8800GTS) and to the sound card (Audigy 2 ZS Platinum). There are no mixups in color connections, but I'm receiving no signals at the TV, either audio or video. All of the equipment is tuned to the same channel (3), but I've also tried the 3 other options available with no change.

Never having dealt with anything like this before, I'm not certain if the wireless system is defective, there is an incompatabiltiy in the equipment or that I'm just doing something wrong? Here is a link to the wireless system:

http://www.shoptronics.com/5wiauvisetrb.html

Is there any help available here?

seeker 08-05-09 07:40 PM

Re: RF-Link GS3200 Wireless PC To PC
 
I just received a response from the seller "support" dept. Apparently, the nature of the support that they claimed to have, is nothing more than to give me the manufacturer's support telephone number (long distance), without any confirmation as to the nature of the problem. Therefore, I requested an RMA, but while awaiting their response to that, I shall continue to seek a confirmation here whether there is any reason why, the setup that I described above, shouldn't work via the DVD player, rather than going straight to the TV?

seeker 09-05-09 09:21 PM

Re: RF-Link GS3200 Wireless PC To PC
 
Not only did the seller (Shoptronics) refuse to RMA the system, RF-Link responded to my questions about how to hook it up, by going in circles, without directly answering my questions. It now appears that I did waste my money on something that I can't use.

RF-Link kept wanting me to buy another system of their's, that from outward appearance is identical to what I have, and even then, it required purchasing another item of their's, that wasn't cheap, to only be able to send A/V (at a low resolution) to the TV...not the full desktop.

Therefore, I'm now planning to connect two PCs via WIFI routers...the question is whether this will permit sending the entire desktop to the second PC?

einstein_314 09-06-09 07:33 PM

Re: RF-Link GS3200 Wireless PC To PC
 
What exactly are you trying to achieve? Displaying the computer on the tv I presume? And you can't move the computer closer? Is your video card outputting video on the video out? I would move the computer temporarily close to the tv and hook the connections up directly with wires, once that is working, try the wireless thing.

It could be that the wireless thinger doesn't support HD resolutions, try bumping the resolution down to like...640x480 and see if it works. I suspect it will only work with standard SD cable signals. The only real option is to connect the media pc directly to the tv.

If that fails...you're out of luck. I've never seen a remote desktop application that was able to stream video over the network between computers, even a gigabit network.

seeker 09-06-09 07:51 PM

Re: RF-Link GS3200 Wireless PC To PC
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by einstein_314 (Post 2080774)
What exactly are you trying to achieve? Displaying the computer on the tv I presume?

The TV is only a temporary target, until I get another monitor or HDTV.
Quote:

And you can't move the computer closer? Is your video card outputting video on the video out? I would move the computer temporarily close to the tv and hook the connections up directly with wires, once that is working, try the wireless thing.
As stated, TV is temporary. I only have a cable connection in the living room, and I'm running into snags adding an outlet is the bedroom. Ultimately, I want the bedroom computer to be an alternative workstation, with full capabilities. Of course, I can move one unit next to the other during the intial setup, but I do not want to have to do that routinely. Obviously, moving the BR computer to the LR wouldn't permit watching TV in the BR.
Quote:

It could be that the wireless thinger doesn't support HD resolutions, try bumping the resolution down to like...640x480 and see if it works. I suspect it will only work with standard SD cable signals. The only real option is to connect the media pc directly to the tv.
That is about the resolution that I could get, if I spent the money for the system that RF-Link's support wanted me to buy...I'm not going to do that.

I can't make a direct connection, due to apartment complex rules, and also my own preferences.
Quote:

If that fails...you're out of luck. I've never seen a remote desktop application that was able to stream video over the network between computers, even a gigabit network.
Then it sounds as though I'm out of luck. If not video, then what can be transmitted via WIFI routers?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:15 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.