nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=60)
-   -   896 megs, 1 Gigabyte, 2 gigabyte? Something some might find interesting. (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=136923)

ChrisRay 08-05-09 08:00 AM

896 megs, 1 Gigabyte, 2 gigabyte? Something some might find interesting.
 
http://www.widescreengamingforum.com...king_(GTX_275)

I'll be the first to admit that some of these results even surprised me. Most notably the differences between the GTX 275 896 and 1798 card. For the most part at the super high resolutions theres very little differences, Sometimes the 275 pulls ahead with memory. But some of the time the higher density memory loses out due to latency.

I'm actually trying to find out if there might be a reasoning for this. Though I speculate 896 megs of memory just isn't terribly limiting right now. And my own testing seems to show this. ((exception being Crysis @ 2560x1600 @ 8xMS)).

Not trying to discourage or persuade anyone from making a choice here. But I this is the first time I have seen tests like this. I am sure with SLI the extra memory will be put it above the 295 setup. But how much is the question.

bacon12 08-05-09 11:04 AM

Re: 896 megs, 1 Gigabyte, 2 gigabyte? Something some might find interesting.
 
Chris that link is broken or wrong.

There is currently no text in this page, you can search for this page title in other pages or edit this page.

ChrisRay 08-05-09 12:11 PM

Re: 896 megs, 1 Gigabyte, 2 gigabyte? Something some might find interesting.
 
Seems to be working fine for me ?

bacon12 08-05-09 12:48 PM

Re: 896 megs, 1 Gigabyte, 2 gigabyte? Something some might find interesting.
 
Now it is before it was just an empty page?

bob saget 08-05-09 02:19 PM

Re: 896 megs, 1 Gigabyte, 2 gigabyte? Something some might find interesting.
 
I went for the 1798 card simply to give myself as much time before having to upgrade as possible. Right now I game on 1680x1050 but very soon i am going to grab a 24inch.

Bearclaw 08-06-09 12:16 AM

Re: 896 megs, 1 Gigabyte, 2 gigabyte? Something some might find interesting.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob saget (Post 2061768)
I went for the 1798 card simply to give myself as much time before having to upgrade as possible. Right now I game on 1680x1050 but very soon i am going to grab a 24inch.

Isn't that a dual GPU card? Don't they have similair issues to SLI when it first came out and even currently?

I am a big fan of single GPU.

bob saget 08-06-09 02:08 AM

Re: 896 megs, 1 Gigabyte, 2 gigabyte? Something some might find interesting.
 
I dont think so. Generally i think its same as normal 275 but more memory.

Bearclaw 08-06-09 02:26 AM

Re: 896 megs, 1 Gigabyte, 2 gigabyte? Something some might find interesting.
 
Ya, I'll have to do some research on that. It always confused me a bit.

bob saget 08-06-09 02:50 AM

Re: 896 megs, 1 Gigabyte, 2 gigabyte? Something some might find interesting.
 
http://www.guru3d.com/article/evga-g...1792mb-review/

betterdan 08-06-09 06:31 AM

Re: 896 megs, 1 Gigabyte, 2 gigabyte? Something some might find interesting.
 
I went with the 896 card beause I'm a cheap ass and also it should be plenty.

Thunderbolt56 08-06-09 06:54 AM

Re: 896 megs, 1 Gigabyte, 2 gigabyte? Something some might find interesting.
 
The 1GB card should be the sweet spot right now as I'm flying a new sim called Rise of Flight (WWI combat sim) and you can't run it in highest detail unless you have at least 1GB of frame buffer on your GPU. I run it at 1920x1200 and with my previous card (8800GTS 512) it ran pretty well, but at these resolutions, and with the eye-candy options available now, you may wany as much VRAM as you can get over the next 12 months.

Just saying.

gstanford 08-06-09 08:16 AM

Re: 896 megs, 1 Gigabyte, 2 gigabyte? Something some might find interesting.
 
It doesn't really suprise me that 2gb of memory on current cards isn't really showing a benefit this generation, that is why I'm currently holding onto my GTX280's and waiting for next gen rather than getting a couple of GTX285 2gb cards.

In my case it wouldn't just be for plain old highres support, I'd like to be able to use some of the combined AA modes at highres and still keep good performance.

Also if you have benchmarked crysis at 1920x1200 or 2560x1600 you can see by the numbers that (using AA + best rendering mode) at times the game wants to use upwards of 1.7gb of video memory at times. Little wonder performance has yet to be maxxed out for this game this generation

I also wonder how much the drivers have to do with the situation (especially for things like AA etc), it could well be the driver just isn't well optimized for exploiting the extra memory very well since it is non standard.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:41 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.