nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Networking And Security (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=58)
-   -   Router .................... (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=137021)

nekrosoft13 08-06-09 11:32 PM

Router ....................
 
Ok, looking for a new router again.

After all the trouble I had been having with DGL-4500.

some info
http://www.dslreports.com/forum/r225...tical-Of-DLink
http://www.dslreports.com/forum/r223...ARE-120-is-out
http://www.dslreports.com/forum/r225...mware-121-beta
http://www.dslreports.com/forum/r227...e-121-Released
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=6990.0
http://www.hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1426791

and so on and on

every since May of this year, D-link released 1.20 update that basically broke A1 revision of DGL-4500 router, and A2 revision isn't better.

1.20 firmware was released in May, in late July they released 1.21 firmware that didn't fix the issues.

Issues:
1) router usually locks up after 2-4 days of use, and has to be power cycled
2) wireless drops every 30-60 seconds when router is under load (transferring files from PC to PC), if not under load it drops wireless every few minutes.


I filed a complaint with BBB, so hopefully this will get resolved with full refund from Dlink. Since they broke their product with their poorly coded firmware.


OK, so now i'm looking for a new router.

What would you recommend?

Few things that I would like to have:
1) Gigabit switch, preferred, but not necessary since i can have separate switch
2) has to have 5ghz band, preferably dual band
3) WPA2
4) good range
5) n

TheBigOne 08-07-09 10:54 AM

Re: Router ....................
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 (Post 2062783)
Ok, looking for a new router again.

After all the trouble I had been having with DGL-4500.

some info
http://www.dslreports.com/forum/r225...tical-Of-DLink
http://www.dslreports.com/forum/r223...ARE-120-is-out
http://www.dslreports.com/forum/r225...mware-121-beta
http://www.dslreports.com/forum/r227...e-121-Released
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=6990.0
http://www.hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1426791

and so on and on

every since May of this year, D-link released 1.20 update that basically broke A1 revision of DGL-4500 router, and A2 revision isn't better.

1.20 firmware was released in May, in late July they released 1.21 firmware that didn't fix the issues.

Issues:
1) router usually locks up after 2-4 days of use, and has to be power cycled
2) wireless drops every 30-60 seconds when router is under load (transferring files from PC to PC), if not under load it drops wireless every few minutes.


I filed a complaint with BBB, so hopefully this will get resolved with full refund from Dlink. Since they broke their product with their poorly coded firmware.


OK, so now i'm looking for a new router.

What would you recommend?

Few things that I would like to have:
1) Gigabit switch, preferred, but not necessary since i can have separate switch
2) has to have 5ghz band, preferably dual band
3) WPA2
4) good range
5) n

I am shock you are having problems with that router I have the same one, It's been on for a year straight never had to reset it ever. I use it for wired and wireless I get a 50mb pipe from comcast after I change some setting tru that router, I tranfer and watch movies tru wireless and wire all the time, and it's never hung or ever had to reset it, I know other people that have that router which is the reason why I got it was having problems with other routers and they never had any problems with it.

Routers I used Linksys pure junk first one was a WRVS4400N spent $250 at the time for it, "junk at best" first one burn out after 3 month wireless stop working and sent it in, got a new one, dropouts, all the time. Then stop working one night that I needed it, was pissed at it because needed to do some work "Throw it out the window" then got the Linksys WRT350N Wireless-N figure maybe the first model was a bad design or something "Sure have learn then" The second one worked ok for the first three months and when down hill from there, never could get good wireless out of this guy and would dropout all the time and had to reset every two week. So give it away for free to "MR BIGMAN" another forum member, and will never buy another linksys again. Then try that Dlink DGL4500 and has been one of the best routers I used and the fastest. "You may just have a defective one" or a first revision just RMA it get a new revision

nekrosoft13 08-07-09 11:02 AM

Re: Router ....................
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by TheBigOne (Post 2063045)
"You may just have a defective one"

nope, take A1 hardware upgrade it to 1.20 or higher and and its ****ed.

didn't you click any links? even dlink techs on their forums are warning people now not to upgrade firmware or their router will be ****ed.

TheBigOne 08-07-09 11:08 AM

Re: Router ....................
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 (Post 2063052)
nope, take A1 hardware upgrade it to 1.20 or higher and and its ****ed.

didn't you click any links? even dlink techs on their forums are warning people now not to upgrade firmware or their router will be ****ed.

I just notice that I have firmware 1.02 2007/11/13 won't flash it till they fixed the problem.

It ashamed to is a good router "I hate when companys do that"

Edit: Just look at the box h/w ver.: A1

TheBigOne 08-07-09 11:18 AM

Re: Router ....................
 
There have to be away to brick it then reflash it back to old firmware, I know the linksys you can, you ftp the firmware over to it done it on two of them. Just not sure on the dlinks it does have a USB port hmm.

nekrosoft13 08-07-09 11:24 AM

Re: Router ....................
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by TheBigOne (Post 2063057)
I just notice that I have firmware 1.02 2007/11/13 won't flash it till they fixed the problem.

It ashamed to is a good router "I hate when companys do that"

Edit: Just look at the box h/w ver.: A1

if you want to be in my boat, then flash the router. I dare you

TheBigOne 08-07-09 11:31 AM

Re: Router ....................
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 (Post 2063066)
if you want to be in my boat, then flash the router. I dare you

"Hell no"

TheBigOne 08-07-09 11:51 AM

Re: Router ....................
 
This might help you have to download a config file that corrupt the firmware since you can't revert back the allow you to reflash the firmware. have to read tru a couple of pages, don't know if this works or not.

http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=5580.75

As far as any good routers out there isn't any, I try different linksys and netgear, this one was the only one that worked good all had problems, it's better to try to fix this one, or go with the A3 of course I would filed with BBB and force them to reflash that router since there firmware F*** it up. "See a class action lawsuit on the horizon, if they don't fixed this mistake 4 bad firmware in a row that unacceptable"

nekrosoft13 08-12-09 01:33 PM

Re: Router ....................
 
good, dlink will provide me with a refund. So I have about a day to find a new router.

einstein_314 08-12-09 02:19 PM

Re: Router ....................
 
After my DGL-4300 started locking up every few days about 1.5 years ago, I picked up a DIR-655 and it's been fantastic. Hasn't locked up on me once, has gigabit, WPA2, etc, etc. It's been rock solid. I would highly recommend it.

nekrosoft13 08-12-09 03:20 PM

Re: Router ....................
 
once you try 5ghz band, you won't want to go back to 2.4ghz.

with 5ghz 40hz n band i was getting twice the wireless speed compared to 2.4ghz.

Bman212121 08-16-09 09:29 AM

Re: Router ....................
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 (Post 2062783)
OK, so now i'm looking for a new router.

What would you recommend?

Few things that I would like to have:
1) Gigabit switch, preferred, but not necessary since i can have separate switch
2) has to have 5ghz band, preferably dual band
3) WPA2
4) good range
5) n

IMO I'd probably split up the WAP and your router. That way you can get a fully functional router and just get a SOHO wireless router that has the 5ghz band. You could also try using the DGL-4500 as a wap bridge only and maybe it would stay working then.

My two picks that I've been looking at for a while are:

Linksys RVS4000: This guy was a little flaky when it first came out, but it sounds like they have fixed those issues and have moved it under their Cisco branch so it gets IPS from them. I found a reviewer on Newegg that has a really good post about this model.

Quote:

Pros: - RVS 4000 is a Linksys product which now falls under the Cisco Small Business name;
- Runs Small Box Linux, if you are familiar with embedded systems particularly Small Box Linux you can modify everything and anything (if you're knowledgeable you can custom compile your own firmware for this device); [you can look into smallbox linux and the RVS4000 more by searching the Internet]
- Current firmware version 1.2.11 (released around 10/22/2008) adds feature for a subscription based service which adds additional features such as E-mail filtering, Anti-Spam, Anti-Phishing, etc; this firmware also fixes nearly all of the major problems that you may have read or heard about;
- Having support and classification moved directly under Cisco, current IPS signature version is 1.40 (released 02/03/2009) which is good since the last update was quite a few months ago;

Cons: - Note that if you are running a firmware version prior to 1.0.14; you'll need to upgrade to 1.0.14 before upgrading to 1.2.11 or any of the post 1.0.14 firmware; I have noticed that some of these units do not function correctly (i.e. unit not connecting to the Internet, not grabbing a WAN IP, etc.) as a result of a direct firmware upgrade from a pre 1.0.14 firmware version to one of the post 1.0.14 firmware versions (so if you have this problem be certain to upgrade to the 1.0.14 before you upgrade to the newest/newer version);
- Because this product now falls under Cisco Small Business, support and driver/firmware/software downloads are now obtained from Cisco's website directly (requires registration to access downloadable contents, though registration and downloads are free as of now)

Other Thoughts: - I have had several of this product for over 2 years and it works great, just be sure to upgrade to the newer functioning firmware which is at least 1.2.11 as some of the previous firmware versions have their respective issues as evidenced by all of the negative reviews here (let alone the issues you'll find on the linksys/cisco support forums);
- This product has a great deal of potential, and it only gets better over time as the qwerks have been mostly worked out to a point where it is a reliable, functional piece of networking equipment given its cost/benefit class; looking forward to better support and more frequent updates now that it falls directly under Cisco control;
This model goes for $110 @ newegg right now.

Cisco ASA 5505:
My other choice is making the leap to a fully functional Cisco ASA 5505. This requires a lot more knowledge about networking hardware, but it has been a really good device since I've set it up. (At work) My only complaints about it are the lack of gigabit ports and the web interface relies on java, so sometimes java updates can break access to the web interface. I do the majority of the configuration via SSH anyway, so it isn't that big of a deal. I know that this device can still get at least 90mbps throughput via the wan port so until you have DOCSIS 3 or FIOS you probably won't need it just yet. This model goes for $350 @newegg right now. They also have listed a $500 version which I think might be the security plus model but newegg's specs seem off. Check out Cisco's model sheet. http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/...omparison.html

This device also comes with 2 POE ports. You could hook up an AP to this device and be able to power it via ethernet.

Both of these devices have very in depth configuration for firewall rules and support VPN connections. The RVS4000 probably uses the built in VPN for windows and the ASA uses the Cisco VPN program.

The last thing might be just to look up DD-WRT and find a good model to install that on. I know a lot of people use that for their firewall and seem to like it.

Any route you take I still think separating these devices is the best idea. That way you don't have to compromise on wireless and on the firewall since you are looking for very specific functions.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:59 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.