nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Microsoft Windows 7 (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=62)
-   -   Quake 2 and Windows 7. (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=140472)

Bandit 10-25-09 08:45 AM

Quake 2 and Windows 7.
 
When I run Quake II on Default OpenGL it says "Quake II has stopped responding." Could someone please help me? I don't like software mode. :|

CaptNKILL 10-25-09 02:26 PM

Re: Quake 2 and Windows 7.
 
Have you tried any compatibility modes?

You might also want to try a more up to date openGL driver for Quake 2...

http://www.r1ch.net/stuff/r1gl/

Bandit 10-26-09 05:37 AM

Re: Quake 2 and Windows 7.
 
I don't want to use r1gl, but Quake 2 Xp. Both Quake 2 xp and Quake 2 don't work in OpenGL. Compatibility mode doesn't help either.

AdamK47 10-26-09 10:40 AM

Re: Quake 2 and Windows 7.
 
I have a solution for you right here.

If you don't want to do that, then revert to a driver prior to 191.00.

Bandit 10-26-09 01:28 PM

Re: Quake 2 and Windows 7.
 
I use 191.07 and I don't have any problems with Q3 e.g. darkplaces runs flawlessy. No changes in nhancer neeeded. Changing profile to Q2 and adding this 11a8 doesn't solve the problem.

AdamK47 10-26-09 02:02 PM

Re: Quake 2 and Windows 7.
 
I'll try running Quake 2 when I get home. I know this solution fixed Anachonox and Call of Duty 1.

Rakeesh 10-26-09 02:43 PM

Re: Quake 2 and Windows 7.
 
Is quake 2 still obtainable these days? My original CD seems a bit on the destroyed side.

AdamK47 10-26-09 04:22 PM

Re: Quake 2 and Windows 7.
 
My game was installed off of the original CD I purchased back in 97. The original CD audio is great.

Atomizer 10-27-09 05:11 AM

Re: Quake 2 and Windows 7.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by AlphaWolf_HK (Post 2111515)
Is quake 2 still obtainable these days? My original CD seems a bit on the destroyed side.

I recently bought the ID Super Pack(http://store.steampowered.com/sub/440/), even though i still have my quake, quake 2 and quake 3 discs, and even doom1/2 disks around here somewhere, well worth it

FatRakoon 04-06-10 10:49 PM

Re: Quake 2 and Windows 7.
 
Hmmm.... I wonder...

That ID pack.

I too have a fair load of those, most of them in fact... I think maybe all.

However, to have them under steam might be a good options, but ...

Will this cure the issues such as Win7 compatibility?

Its no good if it dont cure the issues.

What of the Music from the CD ( Q1 / Q2 etc ) does it compensate by giving us the music "IN-GAME" or is that missing?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:53 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.