nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Microsoft Windows 7 (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=62)
-   -   Realtek LAN: Device Cannot Start (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=140499)

CaptNKILL 10-25-09 08:38 PM

Realtek LAN: Device Cannot Start
 
Alright, I just installed Windows 7 on a system I'm building.

The system is using a Gigabyte G41M-ES2L motherboard with integrated Realtek gigabyte ethernet.

When I installed windows the pre-installed driver just gave me a "the device cannot start" "Code 10" error. The installation disk for the motherboard didn't have a windows 7 driver so I just manually installed the vista driver through device manager.

Same error.

I downloaded the latest 7 driver from realtek.

Same error.

I downloaded the latest 7 driver from gigabyte.

Same error.

:headexplode:

Is there anything I can do here or am I at the mercy of realtek's driver development team?

I used the BIOS "Smart LAN" feature and it detected that the network was 1Gbit so it seems to be working to some extent.

BTW, this is a great first impression 7 is leaving on me. :bleh:

|MaguS| 10-25-09 08:45 PM

Re: Realtek LAN: Device Cannot Start
 
Yeah you have to get it from the manufacturer, the one that MS provides doesn't work. I had to rollback to the default ones at first install after an update. Gigabyte had a new version for me to download though.

http://www.gigabyte.com.tw/Support/M...4bit#anchor_os

CaptNKILL 10-25-09 08:53 PM

Re: Realtek LAN: Device Cannot Start
 
As I said, I installed that driver and 2 others with no luck.

Rummy 10-25-09 08:57 PM

Re: Realtek LAN: Device Cannot Start
 
Are you using a router? I had trouble installing drivers for my P6T when using a router. I hooked up the lan straight to the mobo and the drivers installed. Then hooked it up to the router and it worked.

betterdan 10-25-09 08:58 PM

Re: Realtek LAN: Device Cannot Start
 
Hmm I have an integrated Realtek gigabit ethernet on my Gigabyte motherboard and the driver that came with Windows 7 worked fine. I did update the driver to the latest one on the Gigabyte site and it worked fine also.

CaptNKILL 10-25-09 09:05 PM

Re: Realtek LAN: Device Cannot Start
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Rum Cooler (Post 2111144)
Are you using a router? I had trouble installing drivers for my P6T when using a router. I hooked up the lan straight to the mobo and the drivers installed. Then hooked it up to the router and it worked.

I installed the OS without the cable connected originally.

I also tried installing drivers with it connected to the router.

CaptNKILL 10-25-09 09:50 PM

Re: Realtek LAN: Device Cannot Start
 
Ok, this is really getting irritating.

I've tried everything. Nothing works.

No drivers will install properly on this thing. It just says "this device cannot start".

I tried with the network cable unplugged, with it plugged into the router, and with it plugged into the modem directly. I even reset the modem with the cable connected from the modem to the computer and tried a few different combinations of rebooting and installing drivers from three different locations.

Nothing works, and I have someone who is expecting this computer in a few days.

EDIT: The only thing left that I can try is to download a vista driver to see if that will work.

mojoman0 10-25-09 09:56 PM

Re: Realtek LAN: Device Cannot Start
 
could it possibly be hardware related?

CaptNKILL 10-25-09 10:04 PM

Re: Realtek LAN: Device Cannot Start
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mojoman0 (Post 2111158)
could it possibly be hardware related?

If the network chip is bad I'm going to stab someone.

Rummy 10-25-09 10:17 PM

Re: Realtek LAN: Device Cannot Start
 
Just a shot in the dark here, but check power savings. Maybe its shutting the lan down to save energy.

Also are you installing the driver through device manager?

nekrosoft13 10-25-09 10:25 PM

Re: Realtek LAN: Device Cannot Start
 
tried realtek network diagnostic software something bla bla

Vista Diagnostic Program
http://www.realtek.com.tw/DOWNLOADS/...&GetDown=false

direct link won't work, this tool will help you diagnose the issue

CaptNKILL 10-25-09 10:25 PM

Re: Realtek LAN: Device Cannot Start
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Rum Cooler (Post 2111170)
Just a shot in the dark here, but check power savings. Maybe its shutting the lan down to save energy.

Also are you installing the driver through device manager?

Yeah, I've tried the installers and I've tried device manager.

I'll check the power savings settings, but I disabled Green LAN in the BIOS so it shouldn't be doing that.

Right now I'm trying an old Ubuntu disk I had laying around but its too old and wouldn't have the proper drivers anyway so it isn't helping at all.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:14 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.