nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=60)
-   -   hdmi and dvi (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=141291)

trivium nate 11-13-09 04:15 PM

hdmi and dvi
 
can i use a dvi to hdmi adapter and plug it into one of my gtx 260's while still in sli and get 1080p Hd?

Maverick123w 11-13-09 04:31 PM

Re: hdmi and dvi
 
I'm kind of confused by your question. If you mean can you just run the adapter and use hdmi instead of dvi I'm sure you can.

trivium nate 11-13-09 04:41 PM

Re: hdmi and dvi
 
okay i have dual gtx 260's in sli i want to run HD on them, i dont want to run hdmi through my onboard gpu cuz it disabled and the hd would look like crap and i cant game on because its not really hat good i just want to have amazing looking high definiton cuz i read you have to have a god card for it to look good so i want to get a dvi to hdmi adapter get what im saying?

Maverick123w 11-13-09 04:51 PM

Re: hdmi and dvi
 
If your gaming on that 22" still you're going to be limited to 1680x1050 regardless of what cable you use, and as far as picture quality you're not going to see a difference from hdmi to dvi. The only nice thing about hdmi is that it also routes sound as well.

trivium nate 11-13-09 04:54 PM

Re: hdmi and dvi
 
i bought this monitor
http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Gateway+...&skuId=9350702

it cmae with an hdmi cable my mobo has a hdmi slot but the only way i can get hdmi to enable is if i enable hybrid sli and plug the hdmi cable into the hdmi slot and go into nvidia cp and click on the 1920x1080 1080P can i have sli with my dual gtx 260's enabled and still use hdmi?

Maverick123w 11-13-09 05:01 PM

Re: hdmi and dvi
 
Yes you could, but you're not going to see a benefit from it. The only reason I would do it that way would be if your monitor doesn't have a dvi port. If it does just use dvi, it can display 1080p just fine.

Sazar 11-13-09 05:48 PM

Re: hdmi and dvi
 
Yes, you will get full output upto 1080p.

trivium nate 11-13-09 06:20 PM

Re: hdmi and dvi
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Sazar (Post 2123189)
Yes, you will get full output upto 1080p.



using the dvi to hdmi adapter?

jlippo 11-14-09 04:20 AM

Re: hdmi and dvi
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by trivium nate (Post 2123209)
using the dvi to hdmi adapter?

The data doesn't change, so yes.

trivium nate 11-14-09 02:31 PM

Re: hdmi and dvi
 
well i got the adapter and everything looks amazing except movies it I think i want to bring it back and try another one

FearMeAll 11-14-09 02:41 PM

Re: hdmi and dvi
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by trivium nate (Post 2123595)
well i got the adapter and everything looks amazing except movies it I think i want to bring it back and try another one

I have a lot of DVI to HDMI adapters myself and can see no difference between expensive cables and cheap ones. I wasted 200 bucks on a 6 foot monster cable, but spent $40 on a 25 foot monoprice cable and have seen no difference at all.

If you're playing blu-rays on the pc and you are not hdcp compliant get AnyDVD HD software to get the full 1080p resolution. I really dislike this whole HDCP compliant nonsense.

There are workarounds for everything.

trivium nate 11-14-09 03:02 PM

Re: hdmi and dvi
 
im not playting blue rays jsut regular dvd's

i tihnk im hdcp compliant nvidia control says something about im at work ill look later but thanks


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:23 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.