nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=60)
-   -   How many of ya using a second for PhysX? (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=141653)

Airbrushkid 11-22-09 04:29 AM

How many of ya using a second video card for PhysX?
 
I am using a GTX 260 for video and just installed a 9800 GT 1 gb card for PhysX. Got and improvement in Batman.

Dr.Nick 11-22-09 10:56 AM

Re: How many of ya using a second for PhysX?
 
I added the same card for physx a few days ago and it definitely makes for a nice boost in batman and sacred 2. Weird thing is that all games seem smoother now; even mass effect seems to run a bit better.

DiscipleDOC 11-22-09 03:59 PM

Re: How many of ya using a second for PhysX?
 
I was doing that before I went to SLI...

Redeemed 11-22-09 04:19 PM

Re: How many of ya using a second for PhysX?
 
I was doing that before I went to SLI...

DiscipleDOC 11-22-09 04:56 PM

Re: How many of ya using a second for PhysX?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Redeemed (Post 2128719)
I was doing that before I went to SLI...

Good for you! ;)

CaptNKILL 11-22-09 05:39 PM

Re: How many of ya using a second for PhysX?
 
I have a 9600GT I use for Physx but I don't have it installed right now since I'm not playing any Physx games at the moment.

When I decide to play Mirror's Edge, Cryostasis and Batman I'll definitely put the 9600GT back in.

Redeemed 11-22-09 05:57 PM

Re: How many of ya using a second for PhysX?
 
Does it really make that big of a difference?

I'll be rockin' dual 8800GTXs for a while, probably wont have an option to upgrade till sometime next year. I was figurin' on sellin' them off to help pay for whatever card I get next. If PhysX is that nice, I might just keep one for the added effects.

rage10 11-22-09 06:03 PM

Re: How many of ya using a second for PhysX?
 
see sig. im also running my secondery moniter for hardware monitering on it too.

CaptNKILL 11-22-09 06:28 PM

Re: How many of ya using a second for PhysX?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Redeemed (Post 2128782)
Does it really make that big of a difference?

Yes. :)

If you have a graphics intensive game that also uses the GPU for physics, its going to take a lot of processing power to handle both tasks.

If you throw in a second graphics card that takes on all of the physics duties, leaving the primary GPU to do all of the graphics work you're going to have much better performance.

http://www.firingsquad.com/hardware/...ance/page5.asp

I should see a 21% increase in average performance, and probably a much more significant increase in minimum framerates when there are a lot of physcs and graphics effects on screen.

Redeemed 11-22-09 06:32 PM

Re: How many of ya using a second for PhysX?
 
Hmm... looks like I'm keeping one of these GTXs when I go to get a new card. :lol:

Does it matter the PCI-e bandwidth? Like, if I have a physical PCI-e x16 slot, but it's only x4 electrical, will that render the 8800GTX useless for PhysX?

CaptNKILL 11-22-09 08:54 PM

Re: How many of ya using a second for PhysX?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Redeemed (Post 2128813)
Hmm... looks like I'm keeping one of these GTXs when I go to get a new card. :lol:

Does it matter the PCI-e bandwidth? Like, if I have a physical PCI-e x16 slot, but it's only x4 electrical, will that render the 8800GTX useless for PhysX?

It should be alright for Physx.

Just make sure your PSU and case ventilation is up to the task. The 8800GTX is a fairly power hungry card and isn't as efficient with its clock throttling as newer cards. Its also only PCI-E 1.1 compatible, so the x4 slot will probably effect the performance more.

Just curious... what kind of board are you using?

Redeemed 11-22-09 09:56 PM

Re: How many of ya using a second for PhysX?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by CaptNKILL (Post 2128850)
It should be alright for Physx.

Just make sure your PSU and case ventilation is up to the task. The 8800GTX is a fairly power hungry card and isn't as efficient with its clock throttling as newer cards. Its also only PCI-E 1.1 compatible, so the x4 slot will probably effect the performance more.

Just curious... what kind of board are you using?

Intel® Desktop Board DX58SO

My PSU is a Silverstone 850Watt with four +12v rails. :lol: I'm fully aware of what the G80 consumes, I ran dual 640MB GTS for a while, which I bought on launch day back in '06. :lol:

I just wasn't certain how well PhsyX performance scaled with the PCI-e bus speeds. Wasn't sure if full speed was necessary, or if an x4 slot would suffice. :D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:21 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.