nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Benchmarking And Overclocking (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=24)
-   -   Q6600 @ 3.4GHz (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=144430)

gulizard 02-04-10 12:06 AM

Q6600 @ 3.4GHz
 
I just down clocked my CPU due to recent freezes. I've had prime running for a bit now. No errors or nothing. Its okay but, that is like a 200MHz difference. All I did was lower my voltage to 1.320 and bumped my RAM up to 809MHz, its completely stable. However at 3.6GHz the voltage has to be 1.45 or greater to be stable, and thats with the ram running unlinked as well at 800.0MHz why is this? A 200MHz o/c requires that much voltage to be stable, yet at 3.4GHz its perfectly stable at 1.320, possibly even lower (I haven't tried yet)

Redeemed 02-04-10 12:09 AM

Re: Q6600 @ 3.4GHz
 
Hard to say. Might not be the CPU holding you back... then again it could be the CPU holding you back. :lol:

snowmanwithahat 02-04-10 12:12 AM

Re: Q6600 @ 3.4GHz
 
It could be that you never really tested it very well at 3.6ghz

I've found my cpu to be prime stable, but as soon as I load up "Tripcode Explorer" it crashes... google it if you're not quite sure what it is because I don't really feel like diving into it right now.

What I'm trying to say is that Prime95 just doesn't cut it when it comes to fully stressing your system. I have recreated the error code that Tripcode Explorer creates after tons of hours of testing in prime95... but it doesn't find it nearly as quickly.

I too am at 3.4ghz after a few hours of 3.6ghz 'prime stable'. If my machine can't be stable doing every single possible thing ever imagineable it's just not stable enough... it sucks losing work

Also, if you have a linux box. Pyrit does an AMAZING job of stressing out your cpu as well.

CaptNKILL 02-04-10 01:00 AM

Re: Q6600 @ 3.4GHz
 
I prefer using OCCT for testing. It has a lot of valuable information as well as some ridiculously stressful tests that are far beyond Prime95.

gulizard 02-04-10 06:09 AM

Re: Q6600 @ 3.4GHz
 
I had tested my rig at the 3.6GHz and it was 100% stable. I had no issues with it at that speed, however at 3.4GHz its 100% stable to, even under OCCT. I've had no errors at all tried both OC's now and the only thing different is the temps at 200MHz. So a 200MHz increase requires that much of a voltage bump? That is insane. I am def upgrading to I7.

snowmanwithahat 02-04-10 01:42 PM

Re: Q6600 @ 3.4GHz
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by gulizard (Post 2179050)
I had tested my rig at the 3.6GHz and it was 100% stable. I had no issues with it at that speed, however at 3.4GHz its 100% stable to, even under OCCT. I've had no errors at all tried both OC's now and the only thing different is the temps at 200MHz. So a 200MHz increase requires that much of a voltage bump? That is insane. I am def upgrading to I7.

Yeh... voltage only helps you suck out the last 400mhz or so assuming you have cooling that can handle it.

FYI, our chips are fine at 1.5v, that's what intel specced them at and as long as your cooling can support temps at a reasonable level and that voltage you should have absoultely nothing to worry about.

I've been running mine 1.5v for a while now and it helped me gain stability at 3.4ghz... mine's a pretty bad chip though and I can't push it past 3.4ghz without having issues, even with upwards of 1.6v

1.45v is nothign and well within reason. Regarding your comment about definetly buying an i7.... Q6600's are a 3 year old chip, I don't know what you were expecting, even compared to the Q9xxx series the 6600's are pretty poor overclockers, even the G0 stepping.

gulizard 02-04-10 03:18 PM

Re: Q6600 @ 3.4GHz
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by snowmanwithahat (Post 2179418)
Yeh... voltage only helps you suck out the last 400mhz or so assuming you have cooling that can handle it.

FYI, our chips are fine at 1.5v, that's what intel specced them at and as long as your cooling can support temps at a reasonable level and that voltage you should have absoultely nothing to worry about.

I've been running mine 1.5v for a while now and it helped me gain stability at 3.4ghz... mine's a pretty bad chip though and I can't push it past 3.4ghz without having issues, even with upwards of 1.6v

1.45v is nothign and well within reason. Regarding your comment about definetly buying an i7.... Q6600's are a 3 year old chip, I don't know what you were expecting, even compared to the Q9xxx series the 6600's are pretty poor overclockers, even the G0 stepping.

Mine is stable at the 1.335 voltage, at 3.4GHz. When I was running at 3.6GHz and have my voltage at 1.45 it would idle around 42-44c, and max out around 65-66c sometimes, depending on what the room temperature is. The 3.4GHz it never goes above 60C, and idles a lot lower.

snowmanwithahat 02-06-10 02:43 AM

Re: Q6600 @ 3.4GHz
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by gulizard (Post 2179483)
Mine is stable at the 1.335 voltage, at 3.4GHz. When I was running at 3.6GHz and have my voltage at 1.45 it would idle around 42-44c, and max out around 65-66c sometimes, depending on what the room temperature is. The 3.4GHz it never goes above 60C, and idles a lot lower.

Ok.... I don't see the issue with 65-66C at all.

My chip chokes (complete hang / blue screen at 84). You're still well within our thermal limits at those tempts, these Q6600's have a max of 77 if I remember correctly, so you're doing fine.

gulizard 02-06-10 03:46 AM

Re: Q6600 @ 3.4GHz
 
Doesn't it cut the life down?

snowmanwithahat 02-07-10 05:14 AM

Re: Q6600 @ 3.4GHz
 
higher temps, yeh I'm sure it does... then again I've had many other parts fail in the past before my cpus

3.0c Pentium 4 -- still running fine
1.8ghz opteron 165 (ran at 2.6 and over-volted) still running fine...

In general the motherboard, particularly its power circuitry will die long befor ethe processor will.

You need to look at what intel specs these things for... they have to assume worst-case. Something like where someone would have a pc in a cabinet with poor ventilation, or a poor yield chip where it needs a high VID to operate.

That's why they establish that 1.5v is the max you can pump through a Q6600 without damaging it, it's within specifications posted on the intel site. They also spec out the temps saying less than 77 is fine. As long as you're running your cpu with less than 1.5v and you're under 77C under full load, I'd argue that the rule still applies of "It'll be obsolete before it dies"

Bman212121 02-07-10 11:58 AM

Re: Q6600 @ 3.4GHz
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by gulizard (Post 2179050)
I had tested my rig at the 3.6GHz and it was 100% stable. I had no issues with it at that speed, however at 3.4GHz its 100% stable to, even under OCCT. I've had no errors at all tried both OC's now and the only thing different is the temps at 200MHz. So a 200MHz increase requires that much of a voltage bump? That is insane. I am def upgrading to I7.

It could be that the cpu has a lot more leakage in order to get those extra 200mhz. On a 780i board I could never get 3.6ghz stable. Even at 3420mhz I can pass Linpack or Prime95, but I'll have random crashes well playing games. I just backed it down to the tried and true 3.0ghz and left it at that.

Rakeesh 04-23-10 10:40 PM

Re: Q6600 @ 3.4GHz
 
How are you guys getting these speeds and voltage with this CPU with temps that low? Are you using water cooling?

Also in OCCT which thermal reading should I trust, the CPU one or the individual core sensors? The core sensors all have inconsistent readings so I am guessing I shouldn't trust them.

Right now I'm running a q6700 at 3.25ghz at 1.331v and it touches around 75C on the CPU sensor, two of the core sensors go much higher than that though, the other two sit around the same as the CPU reading. I'm using a Zalman 9500 HSF to cool it.

I've cranked it up to 3.6ghz at 1.5v and had it stable with a short 3 minute test, but the temps were through the roof at load and I didn't trust anything reading over 80.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:25 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.