nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=60)
-   -   280 GTX SLI Powersupply Question (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=144770)

war_child 02-11-10 06:20 AM

280 GTX SLI Powersupply Question
 
I recently upgraded to the following

* i7-920 Bloomfield 2.66GHz
* EVGA X58 x3
* 6GB Corsair XMS3 1600
* WD 500GB black (OS)
* WD 1TB Raid 0 (Games)

I currently have a EVGA GTX 280 SC and wanted to maybe give SLI a try. My question is, will my power supply be enough for the SLI? In reading a bunch of forums some say yes and some say no.

* Thermaltake Toughpower 750w

Thanks in advanced

Revs 02-11-10 06:28 AM

Re: 280 GTX SLI Powersupply Question
 
Should be OK, but the thing to do is make sure you PSU can output enough amps to the cards. Details should be on the side of the PSU. You'll need at least 40A through the 4 power cables for both cards. Hope this helps :)

war_child 02-11-10 07:30 AM

Re: 280 GTX SLI Powersupply Question
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Revs (Post 2183859)
Should be OK, but the thing to do is make sure you PSU can output enough amps to the cards. Details should be on the side of the PSU. You'll need at least 40A through the 4 power cables for both cards. Hope this helps :)

Would that be 40A total across all 4 rails, I also managed to find this table, if its 40 across all 4 then I should be good


Output:
Maximum Output: 750W
Current:
+3.3V: 30A
+5V: 28A
+12V1: 18A
+12V2: 18A
+12V3: 18A
+12V4: 18A
-12V: 0.8A
+5VSB: 3A
Power Factor Correction: Active PFC
Noise: 16dBA at 1300RPM
PG Signal: 100-500ms

Thanks for the reply

snowmanwithahat 02-11-10 09:17 AM

Re: 280 GTX SLI Powersupply Question
 
You'd be fine as long as you're drawing from atleast 2 12v rails...

These multi-rail power supplies drive me crazy because you never actually know which cable is on which rail. It should be fine though

Revs 02-11-10 10:42 AM

Re: 280 GTX SLI Powersupply Question
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by war_child (Post 2183867)
Would that be 40A total across all 4 rails, I also managed to find this table, if its 40 across all 4 then I should be good


Output:
Maximum Output: 750W
Current:
+3.3V: 30A
+5V: 28A
+12V1: 18A
+12V2: 18A
+12V3: 18A
+12V4: 18A

-12V: 0.8A
+5VSB: 3A
Power Factor Correction: Active PFC
Noise: 16dBA at 1300RPM
PG Signal: 100-500ms

Thanks for the reply

I think these are the rails that supply the card. NVidia recommend 10A per power cable (2 per card) so you're fine I think. As was said, as long as the 4 power cables are supplied by at least 2 rails :)

war_child 02-13-10 03:08 PM

Re: 280 GTX SLI Powersupply Question
 
Just wanted to stop by and say "thanks for the responses, it was very helpful in my purchase"

I almost bought two 5870's but for the sake of saving money, I went ahead and picked up another eVGA GTX 280 SC. Aside from having to delete the intro movies in Crysis, the two 280's have been great (thats one crazy game)

Thanks again!

Before: See signature

After:
* i7-920 Bloomfield 2.66GHz
* eVGA X58 x3
* 6GB Corsair XMS3 1600
* WD 500GB black (OS)
* WD 1TB Raid 0 (Games)
* eVGA GTX 280 SLI

Revs 02-13-10 03:24 PM

Re: 280 GTX SLI Powersupply Question
 
You're welcome, dude. Glad you got sorted, rig looks nice :). You should post some pics... http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=143216

Kemo 03-01-10 02:40 PM

Re: 280 GTX SLI Powersupply Question
 
i wish i could find a 285 for less than $350, theyve gone up in price recently.

scubes 03-03-10 02:02 AM

Re: 280 GTX SLI Powersupply Question
 
all i can say is when i had my 2 280,s with a thermaltake toughpower 850 it wasnt enough for my system but when i slapped a thermaltake tough power in it ran flawlessy.with the 850 the pc would shut off on me form time to time:(..


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:54 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.