nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=37)
-   -   three monitors on geforcefx (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=14734)

yoladude 07-12-03 11:17 PM

three monitors on geforcefx
 
i have someone who wants to know whether or not there is any kind of proprietary nview or third party hack to enable three monitors on an fx card. he says he's heard about it and that it's a free download. any advice?

jAkUp 07-12-03 11:33 PM

well you could always get a vga multiplyer:D

Sazar 07-13-03 12:05 AM

Quote:

Originally posted by jAkUp
well you could always get a vga multiplyer:D
eh... wots at ?

jAkUp 07-13-03 12:28 AM

its what they use for demos.. allows you to use like 10 screens.. all showing the same thing.

extreme_dB 07-13-03 12:43 AM

Re: three monitors on geforcefx
 
How can there be a software workaround when the card can't physically connect to 3 monitors? You'd need another card for the third monitor.

ricercar 07-13-03 01:10 AM

(1)
A VGA splitter cable would permit an arbitrary number of analog displays to be connected, all showing the same image. A software hack could increase the drive strength of the DAC, allowing more analog displays to be driven from one DAC.

(2)
NV3x have only two DACs, so you can view only two independent images regardless of how many displays you have connected.

(3)
NVIDIA drives TV output decoder from DAC B. A software hack might enable both a TV display and a VGA/DVI display to be driven from DACB. The third display, being driven from DAC A, would show a different image.

yoladude 07-13-03 02:35 AM

thanks for the replies guys...i wasn't sure whether or not this would work at all.

extreme_dB 07-13-03 02:39 AM

Well, ricercar did post some good info there. I guess you're only interested in having 3 independant screens.

Nv40 07-13-03 02:43 AM

right now i think MAtrox is the Only one that support 3monitors at once ..
wait.. i think there is a quadro board from Nvidia that support 3 monitors too.. but is not for gaming ,only for professional aplications..

extreme_dB 07-13-03 02:57 AM

I can say that if Nvidia supported triplehead in their highend card and ATI didn't, with all other relative aspects being the same, then I'd buy it for sure, along with the necessary monitors! As long as triplehead is actually supported in the games I play. :) I'm mainly into racing simulations, mechwarrior, C&C RTS, and Civ3. I'm looking forward to HL2 and Doom3 also.

Nv40 07-13-03 03:09 AM

Quote:

Originally posted by extreme_dB
I can say that if Nvidia supported triplehead in their highend card and ATI didn't, with all other relative aspects being the same, then I'd buy it for sure, along with the necessary monitors! As long as triplehead is actually supported in the games I play. :) I'm mainly into racing simulations, mechwarrior, C&C RTS, and Civ3. I'm looking forward to HL2 and Doom3 also.
3 monitors at once in a game will be supperb.
but you can count the people that have that cash$$ and even if you have the money ,you will need a video card 3xtimes faster than the NV35 and R350 to play at HQ settings in those games. so its not something we are going to see anytime soon.

what i will like to see in games 100% optimized for DUal CPus or any other higher number of cpus you may have in your PC. ATlonXp's are pretty cheap .just imagine the performance you will get with 2 atlonxp2500 plus..
at the same time. much higher without a doubt that a single P4 running at 4.2 ghz. :)

extreme_dB 07-13-03 03:19 AM

Maybe a triplehead card would have triple GPUs. :)

Nonetheless, I would gladly sacrifice HQ settings for triplehead. And for strategy games/RTS, that might not even be necessary.

Triplehead is worth it for the 2D experience alone!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:39 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.