nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Latest Tech And Game Headlines (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=67)
-   -   PhysX running on 16 CPU cores in FluidMark (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=148558)

News 03-04-10 12:20 PM

PhysX running on 16 CPU cores in FluidMark
 
We wrote previuosly about upcoming new version of FluidMark, that is going to include Multi-Core CPU PhysX support.

Recently, with help of David Legrand from PCinpact.com, Jerome 'JeGX' Guinot was able to test new FluidMark 1.2 on setup with 16 CPU cores. (click to view full image)

http://physxinfo.com/news/wp-content...6_cores_sm.png


And as you may see, CPU PhysX simulation with 48 000 fluid particles is 100 % utilizing all 16 Cores. Amazing work http://physxinfo.com/news/wp-include...icon_smile.gif

New FluidMark is going to be available soon enough, after JeGx will catch and kill remaing bugs.

Source: PCinpact | Geeks3D



More...

CaptNKILL 03-04-10 12:57 PM

Re: PhysX running on 16 CPU cores in FluidMark
 
Wow, I wonder how the performance of 16 cores compares to a GPU.

Redeemed 03-04-10 01:00 PM

Re: PhysX running on 16 CPU cores in FluidMark
 
Wow... 100% cpu usage...

Either it's that taxing, or that poorly written. Will this be what forces me to find my i7 920 insufficient? :p :lol:

ragejg 03-04-10 01:46 PM

Re: PhysX running on 16 CPU cores in FluidMark
 
Is this a clue re: future physx implement-ability with cpus instead of gpus? Or a mix of both?

Vardant 03-04-10 02:02 PM

Re: PhysX running on 16 CPU cores in FluidMark
 
You can already combine CPU and GPU PhysX. Sacred II is using it for some effects.

Redeemed 03-04-10 02:38 PM

Re: PhysX running on 16 CPU cores in FluidMark
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ragejg (Post 2200881)
Is this a clue re: future physx implement-ability with cpus instead of gpus? Or a mix of both?

Quote:

Originally Posted by Vardant (Post 2200902)
You can already combine CPU and GPU PhysX. Sacred II is using it for some effects.

I think this is the best way to go. It doesn't make sense only using one component when another is capable.

This will require some really intelligent software to do the load balancing between CPU and GPU- but it makes a lot of sense. :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:15 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.