nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   General Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   Stupid Question (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=149945)

Capt. Picard 04-12-10 05:28 AM

Stupid Question
 
I'm using Edubuntu 9.10. Yes, I've read that it is a crappy version - but it's too late for me to change and I'm not going to wait till the end of April for the official version. And for my purposes (classroom PCs) it's just fine.

Anyway, I'm a Linux noob so bear with me. The 4 year old PCs in class all have integrated video processing. Do I need to install Linux video drivers?

Sean_W 04-12-10 10:42 AM

Re: Stupid Question
 
It's not a stupid question.

Integrated video on the motherboard drivers usually come part of the distribution and should be automatically setup. In other words, the video drivers should just work without the need to install anything.

I'm not sure about that version but I would assume it works the same, being as XOrg takes care of that.

Dizzle7677 04-13-10 12:38 AM

Re: Stupid Question
 
What kind/brand of integrated video hardware?

Capt. Picard 04-13-10 02:27 AM

Re: Stupid Question
 
http://www.pcchips.com.tw/PCCWebSite...uID=44&LanID=0

Sean_W 04-13-10 05:34 AM

Re: Stupid Question
 
UniChrome drivers are part of Xorg and in with the distro. I don't see why it would be any different for Edubuntu.

grey_1 04-13-10 05:39 PM

Re: Stupid Question
 
I found this capt, don't know if it will help or not.

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/UniChrome

Is there a particular issue you're having or just general curiosity?

zoomy942 04-13-10 06:09 PM

Re: Stupid Question
 
it should install by default. every older pc i have installed ubuntu on had the video card totally found and setup right out of the box.

something broken?

grey_1 04-13-10 06:28 PM

Re: Stupid Question
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by zoomy942 (Post 2232550)
it should install by default. every older pc i have installed ubuntu on had the video card totally found and setup right out of the box.

something broken?

The only issues I've seen (and had the problem with ubuntu myself on rare occasion) is that all available resolutions won't be available unless rebooted. Why I don't know.

Capt. Picard 04-14-10 02:07 AM

Re: Stupid Question
 
No issues. Just asking

Thanks for the responses.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:34 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.