nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Quadro NVS 4xx = fast 4-Screen Twinview-Setup? (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=150368)

schmolch 04-26-10 04:30 AM

Quadro NVS 4xx = fast 4-Screen Twinview-Setup?
 
Hello.

Would a Quadro NVS 4xx Card make it possible to have a FAST 4-Screen Twinview-Setup with compiz and without xinerama?

Thanks!

JaXXoN 04-26-10 05:05 AM

Re: Quadro NVS 4xx = fast 4-Screen Twinview-Setup?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by schmolch (Post 2240145)
Would a Quadro NVS 4xx Card make it possible to have a FAST 4-Screen Twinview-Setup with compiz and without xinerama?

The NVS 4xx integrates two GPUs, so Xinerama is pretty much un-avoidable.

Alternatives:
* Ask nvidia to provide SLI Mosaic for NVS (not very likely).
* Use Xgl on top of the Xinerama enabled X-server (deprecated)
* Use a single GPU card with Matrox TH2G (up to 2x2x1920x1200=3840x2400).

regards

Bernhard

schmolch 04-26-10 05:43 AM

Re: Quadro NVS 4xx = fast 4-Screen Twinview-Setup?
 
Crap.

The TH2G sounds nice, no more worries with cards and configs etc.
However, as far as i understood your (really great) howto correctly i think i would need 2 TH2G because my resolution is:
3600x1600 (3 x 1600x1200 rotated)

I don't even know if my Video-Card can output 1600x3600 (NVidia 7600GS), if the rotation works, etc., there are just too many unknowns.

2 TH2G would be 500 and i think i would rather invest that into the new 27" Dell Screen with 2560x1440 that is about 900.

Or use Windows where everything is easy and fast i assume :(

JaXXoN 04-26-10 06:09 AM

Re: Quadro NVS 4xx = fast 4-Screen Twinview-Setup?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by schmolch (Post 2240158)
However, as far as i understood your (really great) howto correctly i think i would need 2 TH2G because my resolution is:
3600x1600 (3 x 1600x1200 rotated)

I'm pretty sure this will not work because the TH2G doesn't support 1200x1600.
1600x1200 works fine (had this working for about a year or so with one TH2G):
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=106517
(check posting #2).

Quote:

Originally Posted by schmolch (Post 2240158)
I don't even know if my Video-Card can output 1600x3600 (NVidia 7600GS), if the rotation works, etc., there are just too many unknowns.

That's another problem: at the time I didn't yet had the TH2G(s), I once tried out
3x 1200x1600 with rotation and Xinerama - It was notably slower than 3x 1600x1200.

Quote:

Originally Posted by schmolch (Post 2240158)
2 TH2G would be 500 and i think i would rather invest that into the new 27" Dell Screen with 2560x1440 that is about 900.

If 3x 1600x1200 is ok for you then you can get away with only one TH2G.

Quote:

Originally Posted by schmolch (Post 2240158)
Or use Windows where everything is easy and fast i assume :(

Use whatever fits best to your requirements.

regards

Bernhard


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:16 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.